[Book Review #2] Prodigy by Marie Lu

13414446

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

Book Specifications:

Author: Marie Lu

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: Yes. Legend #2

Release Date: January 29, 2013

Publisher: Penguin Putnam, Inc.

No. of Pages: 371 pages

Price: 699.00Php

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Action, Fantasy

Book Review:

The Cover: The cover illustrates a blue bird-like symbol. The symbol of the Colonies of America. And for me, that was a good consideration for the book cover. I’m not a fan of the black background, though. That is for the sole reason of the creases that the dust jacket gets whenever you close and open the book. Some of you might not get it, but to me with a book OCD, that’s not a good thing. (3.5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: Ms. Marie Lu did not disappoint with this second installment of the series. Much like it’s predecessor, Prodigy is filled with the right amounts of action, thrill, and swoon. Just like the first book, Legend, I couldn’t put the book down. The revelations of this book is quite numerous, and there was no time that my mouth was just permanently closed. It kept dropping every chapter for the revelations. *spoiler alert* I just have to include this because I might not be able to sleep if I don’t. Especially the fact that Razor and the Patriots actually worked for the Republic to assassinate Anden. Oh my God. I can’t. I’m just… Uhm. Okay. (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.* WHY DID DAY have to break up with June?! Why?! Yeah I get it, it’s because of that ailment his brain possess but wtf. The feels just got me over with that ending. Oh my God, I cried guys. I really, legit cried. 😦 (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: Over-all, I LOVED THIS BOOK. I liked it better than the first one, actually. It was just beautifully written, just like the first one, however, this book really spoke to me. It thrilled me every second to read it. I really can’t put it down. Even when I rode the train or jeepneys to school, I read it. Even during class, I held this precious book and read it. I just loved it that much. (4.5 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“All it takes is one generation to brainwash a population and convince them that reality doesn’t exist” – Daniel Altan Wing

“I want to run. To do what I always do, have always done, for the last five years of my life. Escape, flee into the shadows. But this time, I stand my ground. I’m tired of running.” – Daniel Altan Wing

“A farewell between us should be more than a polite bow.” – June Iparis

FOOTER

One thought on “[Book Review #2] Prodigy by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

