[Book Review #3] Champion by Marie Lu

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Book Specifications:

Author: Marie Lu

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: Yes. Legend #3

Release Date: November 5, 2013

Publisher: Penguin Putnam, Inc.

No. of Pages: 369 pages

Price: 760.00Php

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Action, Fantasy

Book Review:

The Cover: The cover symbolized Day’s tattoo when he was assigned to the Republic patrol. It was a good symbolism, because somehow, the cover was still connected with the story of the book and for that, I must give credit. (4 out of 5 stars)

The Story: It has a good story. I don’t know if it’s me or what, but somehow, in the middle of the book, I just got a little sleepy and I fell asleep, literally. I don’t know if it’s because I’m just exhausted from the school works or what. But don’t get me wrong. I loved the story. Especially the *spoiler alert* Jameson and June confrontation up the roof. That scene had me on the edge of my seat. Oh my god. That was just a thrilling scene. I had more favorite moments which might just fill this up so I’ll just stop there. (4.5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.* I didn’t expect for Day to forget about June. I was expecting for either him or June to die. Morbid, yes, I know. But somehow, that’s been the ending for most of the dystopian novels that I’ve read. That was what I expected and dread to read as I was reading this book. I fret for the both of them. I awaited the parts that one of them’ll die. Fortunately, there was no such event. Thank God! I love you, Marie Lu, for keeping both of Day and June alive and well! There’s nothing I dislike more than trilogies that started out great but ended horrifically. I loved it. It was a good ending! (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict:  Over-all, this book was a great conclusion to an impeccable dystopian trilogy. It really is. It has it’s flaws, no doubt, but it was, nonetheless, a great read and I highly recommend it to those who love The Hunger Games, Shatter Me, and Divergent! It is really a great book! (4.5 out 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

 “Sometimes, the sun sets earlier. Days don’t last forever, you know. But I’ll fight as hard as I can. I can promise you that.”  – Daniel Wing

“I’ve been searching a long time for something I think I lost. I felt like I found something when I saw you back there.” – Daniel Wing

“I scream for everything that has gone wrong. I scream for everything broken in our lives.” – June Iparis

“We can heal. Perhaps we can return to that same place we once stood, when we were both young and innocent.” – June Iparis

FOOTER

One thought on “[Book Review #3] Champion by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

