[Book Review #7] Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

23384157

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

16-year-old Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on her favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. Dash, in a bad mood during the holidays, happens to be the first guy to pick up the notebook and rise to its challenges.

What follows is a whirlwind romance as Dash and Lily trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations all across New York City. But can their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions, or will their scavenger hunt end in a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Co-written by Rachel Cohn (GINGERBREAD) and David Levithan, co-author of WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON with John Green (THE FAULT IN OUR STARS), DASH & LILY’S BOOK OF DARES is a love story that will have readers scouring bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Book Specifications:

Author: Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Format: Paperback.

Part of a Series: No.

Release Date: October 11, 2011

Publisher: Random House Children’s Books

No. of Pages: 260 pages

Price: 360.00Php

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Humor

Book Review:

The Cover: The cover, especially with the new and latest book design, looks absolutely divine! A dark blue night sky plus the red image of houses, plus some Christmas effects really amounted to a great christmas-y cover. It looks really great. (4.5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: Reading this book started as a requirement for this book club I joined over at Instagram, and as the story of Dash and Lily unfolds, I found myself loving them. The story was well planned, thought out, and gorgeously written. I can’t get enough of it. Personally, I adore holiday stories like this one. I just really love the idea of love during the most wonderful time of the year. Don’t you? It just gives me the sufficient amount of feels to last the cold season. And so, being a fan of Christmas stories, I absolutely loved this book. Although I did expect some more swoon from this specific book. I thought it lacked some servings of swoon on some moments, but nonetheless, I enjoyed reading this book. (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: As the book came to a close, I was a little disappointed by how it ended. It was really predictable, without plot twists which, I was sure, would make the ending and the story more interesting and more worth to read. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the story. I’m just saying that it would be better if there’s a few more pinches of swoon. (4 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: This is a great holiday read. I highly suggest you go get a cup of your very own hot coffee (or hot chocolate, if you’re not a coffee person), grab a sweater, and drown yourself in this book. Do it before the holidays end. (4.5 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.”

“I wanted to talk to someone. But who? It’s moments like this, when you need someone the most, that your world seems smallest.”

“I want to believe there is a somebody out there just for me. I want to believe that I exist to be there for that somebody.”

FOOTER

Leave a Reply

