[Book Review #8] Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav

18003300

Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist. Awarded a coveted Churchill Fellowship, her work expresses the intricacies of love and loss.

Beautifully illustrated and thoughtfully conceived, Love and Misadventure will take you on a rollercoaster ride through an ill-fated love affair- from the initial butterflies to the soaring heights- through to the devastating plunge. Lang Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world.

Book Specifications:

Author: Lang Leav

Format: Paperback

Part of a Series: No.

Release Date: April 26, 2013

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing, LLC

No. of Pages: 176 pages

Price: 575.00Php

Genre: Poetry. Romance.

Book Review:

The Cover: I am in love with the cover! The red base color of the book + the interesting and whimsical portrait of an animated girl on the middle of the book = an impressed JM. The cover is simple yet gorgeous! (5 out of 5 stars)

The Poems: The poems found within this book are all unique and heart-wrenching. I couldn’t have asked for a better poetry book. Its just filled with sufficient feels that would satisfy me for years. Some poems really spoke to me, reminding me of past break-ups (Yes, I know. This is getting really personal.) and other  heartbreaks that I have previously encountered. However, it also featured some poems for the “in-love” and inspired people out there. The whimsical feels also add to the over-all satisfaction of readers worldwide. (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: This book is so worth every Peso! For a paperback worth 575.00Php with pages that aren’t even half-filled, people might judge this book and label it as a ripoff. But let me be the first to tell you that this is worth all the money. Just give it a chance, I, too, hesitated on buying this poetry book. But once I read every page of it, ugh. I can’t even… Just buy the book. (10 out of 5 stars)

Favorite Poems from The Book:

Just Friends by Lang Leav

I know that I don’t own you,
and perhaps I never will,
so my anger when you’re with her,
I have no right to feel.

I know that you don’t owe me,
and I shouldn’t ask for more;
I shouldn’t feel so let down,
all the times when you don’t call.

What I feel, I shouldn’t show you,
so when you’re around I won’t;
I know I have no right to feel it,
but that doesn’t mean I don’t.

The Girl He Loves by Lang Leav

There was a man who I once knew,
for me there was no other.
The closer to loving me he grew,
the more he would grow further.

I tried to love him as his friend,
then to love him as his lover,
but he never loved me in the end —
his heart was for another.

FOOTER

One thought on “[Book Review #8] Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav

Leave a Reply

