[Book Review #10] The Light in the Wound by Christine Brae

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]

Affected by her parents’ highly publicized divorce, Isabel grows up isolated and alone, with a resolve to never fall in love and repeat their mistakes.

When Jesse Cain enters her life, she falls hopelessly in love with him, and every sadness she’s ever felt is washed away by his intensity and passion. But people change as they grow up. Things can never stay the same forever.

Jesse and Isabel fight to stay together, determined to hold on to what they once had. Isabel wonders if a second love can ever be enough to make her forget her first.

Book Specifications:

Author: Christine Brae

Format: eBook

Part of a Series: Yes. The Light in the Wound #1

Release Date: July 23, 2013

Publisher: CreateSpace

No. of Pages: 372 pages

Price: Free (copy provided by author)

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Chick Lit

Book Review:

The Cover: The cover features a girl in a dress by a beach. This, for me, showcased a carefree, sweet, and innocent girl without a fault in the world, just like Isabel during the start of the book. Its a great symbolism to introduce Isabel to the book’s possible readers. (4 out of 5 stars)

The Story: As I have already mentioned on my Goodreads review of this novel, I love the fact that this book was fast-paced. It covered Isabel’s life before, during, and after her *spoiler alert!* marriage with Alex, all within 372 pages. Some books rarely showcase the same amount of details, and I must say that that was a good thing. I also adore Christine’s writing style with this novel. I loved how in every page of the book, was an insight as to how the protagonist, Isabel, felt at the time. I was never confused on what she was thinking, and feeling with the given situations she experienced. I loved that! (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.* I actually didn’t expect that Isabel would end up with Alex!! I was on #TeamJesse until he left our Isabel for Katrina and his taste of fame, and attention. Don’t get me wrong, as the book came to an end, I changed my mind and decided that Isabel IS indeed better off with Alex. But the story seemed to attract and fool me to think that Isabel may end up with Jesse. With his frequent presence around Isabel, I , for one, thought that Isa might give in to her love for Jesse and leave Alex. Thank God I was wrong. Alex IS the right choice. (5 out of 5 stars)


Additional Insight: Isabel, Jesse, and Alex’ love triangle was far from what I have expected. Don’t get me wrong, that’s a good thing. Some love triangles in other novels tend to be destructive and controversial. They tend to take away the spotlight from the protagonist, or from the story itself. I found their love triangle to be mature. Isabel handled this concern the best way she can, by facing Jesse the night before her wedding with Alex, and she didn’t give in to the temptation of pleasuring herself with Jesse’s company. I found this specific scene mature, and different. It was a great “growing up” scene for Isabel. (++)

The Verdict:  This novel’s great. For me, it’s something that I would be looking forward to read again in the future, and I can’t actually wait for the sequel, His Wounded Light. I shall read the sequel right after I finish reading my holiday book of choice, My True Love Gave To Me. But going back, this book is just magnificent. Coming from a family with a chaotic and reckless past, I can actually relate to Isabel. And that’s what hooked me up from the start. (4.67 out 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“The good and bad thing about time is that it never stops for anyone.” – Isabel Amarra

“Burning your hand once is the only way you’ll ever remember never to touch an open fire.” – Isabel Amarra

“No man is worth hurting yourself over. Remember that, Isabel. You gave up too much for him. Don’t do it again. There is nothing wrong with who you are and where you came from. Someday when the time comes, you will realize that being socially different shouldn’t matter when someone loves you.” – Claudia Holtzer

“I will never settle for anybody who didn’t love me enough to make me a priority.” – Isabel Amarra

Excerpt From The Book:

“I’ve always been honest with you about how difficult it has been to let go of the past. But you are my present and my future. From the first time we were together, you saved my life. You saved my soul. You made me want to make you proud. You made me realize that I deserved better. You made me unafraid to love you. My wounds are healed because of you.”

He lifted me up, placed me on top of his lap and held me close as I leaned my head on his chest. He stroked my hair lightly as he spoke.

“Baby, I’m so sorry I left you that night. More than being filled with jealousy, I was afraid that you might have never really loved me. I know I told you long ago that it was okay if you didn’t love me just yet, that I had enough love for the both of us. I should have understood then that you never lied to me about your true feelings for him. You were always honest with me. And even now, at this very moment, I’d rather have a part of your heart than none of it all.”

Oh, and here’s something new! Amanda and Jothee from The Bookish Diaries and Fandomly Bookish are hosting a giveaway! This giveaway is open for the residents of the Philippines only. For some reason, WordPress won’t allow the code for the giveaway widget, so I worked around it. Just click the link below and it’ll take you to the giveaway instructions. Up for grabs are 3 signed copies of The Light in the Wound. I hope you’ll enter! Goodluck! 😀

*Rafflecopter Giveaway for The Light in the Wound*

About the Author:

Christine Brae

Christine Brae is a full time career woman who thought she could write a book about her life and then run away as far as possible from it. She never imagined that her words would touch the hearts of so many women with the same story to tell. She is currently working on her third book which she hopes to release in June,2014.

When not listening to the voices in her head or spending late nights at the office, Christine can be seen shopping for shoes and purses, running a half marathon or spending time with her husband and three children in Chicago. You may reach her through the links below.

Website || Goodreads || Twitter || Facebook || Instagram

Light in the Wound Banner

This book tour is hosted by Amanda and Jothee from Fandomly Bookish and The Bookwhore Diaries. 🙂

FOOTER

4 thoughts on “[Book Review #10] The Light in the Wound by Christine Brae

    1. Yeah, I sensed that it wasn’t update, but the info was forwarded by the hosts of the book tour. We were supposed to post it uniformly 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

