[Event Recap] #JamesFreyinPH

banner

Last February 1, 2015, I got the chance to meet the New York Times Best-selling author of the Lorien Legacies and Endgame: The Calling, James Frey, or otherwise widely known as Pittacus Lore. If the identity’s news to you, you might want to consult Google for further information. Yes, James Frey IS Pittacus Lore.

This post is my event recap of the said booksigning, and again, it’ll be filled with pictures. Though I will no longer discuss it in pure detail. You have been warned. Read no further if you don’t want to see dozens upon dozens of my pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

TRIVIA: James Frey was supposed to sign Endgame: The Calling books ONLY. Signing Lorien Legacies books like I Am Number Four, The Power of Six, etc. was not part of the deal. But way back a week, James announced that he is indeed the controversial author of the Lorien Legacies, and with that being said, National Book Store got permission for him to sign the said books as well.

January 31, 2015 – A day early.

I arrived at National Book Store Glorietta 1 at around 9:00AM of January 31. (Yes, I was that early. Again.) Being MRT / Travel buddies, I arrived there with my good friend Anne. We were already the 6th and 7th in line to meet the author. (Crazy, right? And the first in line, Robert, arrived at NBS the night of January 30. He was 2 nights early. Yes.) Once the mall opened, I headed for Powerbooks, Greenbelt 4 to complete my Lorien Legacies books. Afterwards, I went home to spend some time with my family while my spot in the line was safe and secure. ๐Ÿ™‚

At around 7PM, I was ready for yet another night of camping out with my book friends. I met up with Anne, again at the MRT and we went straight to NBS Glorietta. There, we found more of our group and we bonded instantly. There’s no better friendship than one formed through the love for books, indeed. We stayed within the premises of National Book Store while we wait patiently for the staff to settle in and arrange the set-up for the book signing the next day. Once the mall was ready to close, we settled outside the bookstore for our ritualistic camp-out. ย Once we were outside, of course, my book friends would never say no to thousands upon thousands of photo opportunities. Good thing my monopod and bluetooth shutter was packed-up and ready for use. Below are some pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

1-horz(Now this is where my heart breaks and my feet hurts like heck.) Once we were fulfilled with our need for self-approval, all thanks to the millions of pictures taken, we went on an adventure to find the nearest McDonald’s to eat our dinner. I’m not kidding when I tell you that we literally went on a walk-a-thon just to find the nearest fast food chain. After several minutes of scouring the whole area, we found ourselves right where we almost started: at Greenbelt (which literally was like 4 corners from where we started.) Disappointed, we carried on and continued our search.

A little while later, Ate Charm, the admin of Endgame PH, (who was also a good friend of ours) sent us a text stating that James Frey was there at the line. Still hungry, we paid no attention to the text. Then, a second text came which contained curses, which made us feel that the information seemed legit. Intrigued, we contacted Ate Charm thru a phone call and once she answered, we heard loud screams from the background. James Frey really was at the line!!! Knowing that he was there, while we were like miles away from the line, it gave us the strength and energy to run across the area just to get to the venue as quickly as possible. We were like runners from the Maze Runner movie hoping to get to safety.We felt really stupid and disappointed at ourselves at that time.

When we arrived at the line, James Frey was nowhere to be found. What was left of him, was like 6 dozens of J.Co donuts, which, according to those who luckily got the exclusive chance of meeting James early, was given to them by the author himself. (Writing this part is extremely hard for me because reminiscing our dumb action of venturing away from our spot really just consumes me in a very negative way. Ugh.) Feeling disappointed, bitter, hungry, tired, and betrayed all at the same time, we finally settled at Family Mart to eat our extremely late dinner. But, unsurprisingly, our appetites were nowhere to be found.

Let’s move on, shall we? Now, right after we ate, we settled in our spot in the line (expecting that James will come back any minute). Some of the people from the Lorien Lounge, a group for the Lorics (fans of the Lorien Legacies), decided to play games. Some of us joined in on the fun, while some chose to stay at the side to lay low.

After hours and hours of waiting, playing games, and photo ops, we decided to, once again, leave the line, but this time, we wanted to go somewhere we can rest, take a shower, and eat. We decided to go to Henrick’s (Mia’s boyfriend) house and we stayed there for several hours and afterwards, we went back to the venue.

February 1, 2015 – Today’s the day!

We arrived back at the venue at around 7:30AM. Again, we wasted no time posing for more photo ops. We probably might be the most vain campers in the world. Below are some proof.

1521212_939760512708762_2085798004514983113_n-tileOnce registration was upon us, our energy was at it’s highest. We were extremely stoked to finally meet James Frey. But first, since we won’t be seeing the author until 2PM, we ate lunch. Afterwards, we killedย our time at Time Zone until the moment was finally here! James Frey arrived as the audience welcomed him with wide arms and extremely loud screams.

10943754_10152674449821914_337598715314344655_nHe was interviewed, by the way, and here are some facts that I was able to take note of:

  • The sequel is finished and a title is still on the rocks, but unfortunately, he isn’t allowed to share any information about it.
  • Endgame is going to be turned into a movie thanks to 20th Century Fox!
  • The original puzzle in Endgame was constructed by the author himself, but it was ultra simple, and he, instead, hired 3 professionals who’s task is to make the puzzle a lot more complicated.
  • He’s a father of 3. Said kids haven’t got the chance to reads his works yet, and he doesn’t intend on letting them read his works until they reach a specific age.
  • James had a child crush on a girl named Sarah, thus the frequent name appearance of both the Lorien Legacies books and Endgame.
  • He believes that girls think boys who read are motherfucking cool. (Yes, he literally cursed in front of hundreds of his fans, and its what makes him such a cool guy!)

Right after the interview, he took pictures with the crowd. Ah! He was just in front of me in the picture!! Look:ย 10968396_10152674449146914_7999116308695018920_nIn the photo, the crowd was asked to raise the books by James Frey slash Pittacus Lore. If you can see the person who isn’t carrying anything but an Instax camera, you must know that I’m that person and I wasn’t able to raise his books because I was carrying 2 hardbound copies of Endgame and 5 hardbound copies of the Lorien Legacies. Boy, were they heavy! And after the photo with the crowd, the actual book signing went next.

Again, I was the 8th in line to have my books signed by James Frey. When it was my turn to have a small chat with the author as he signs my books, I told him:

Hi, Sir James! I totally loved Endgame, and Sarah was absolutely adorable. Her romance with Jago is absolutely cute and unique. Please keep her alive until the end.

Yes, I said all those things. And he actually gave me reply. He said:

Maybe. She’ll be alive up until the 2nd book.

Seriously. I don’t know what to feel with his answer. Should I be happy since I just discovered Sarah Alopay’s faith, or should I mourn the character’s early demise? I don’t know. I really, really don’t know.

I went home afterwards, and rewarded myself with a 3-hour nap. And no, my day wasn’t done. After I woke up, I reviewed for two major quizzes that were scheduled the next day! Superb, right? ๐Ÿ˜€

But I had fun! And meeting James Frey might be one of the best things that happened to my book-filled life! Until we meet again, Mr. James Frey!

Oh, and here are some books that were signed by the author. Please note that limited edition “Pittacus Lore” signature on my copy of The Fall of Five. I don’t know why but some people from the Lorien Lounge greatly appreciate said signature.IMG_1825

Thank you so much to the people of National Book Storeย for bringing James Frey / Pittacus Lore here to the Philippines! You guys are (seriously) the best! I’m looking forward to the next major book signing this March! Hopefully, I get an invite to the blogger’s forum. Wish me luck, guys! ๐Ÿ™‚

FOOTER

One thought on “[Event Recap] #JamesFreyinPH

Leave a Reply

