[Book Review #18] I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

7747374

In the beginning they were a group of nine. Nine aliens who left their home planet of Lorien when it fell under attack by the evil Mogadorian. Nine aliens who scattered on Earth. Nine aliens who look like ordinary teenagers living ordinary lives, but who have extraordinary, paranormal skills. Nine aliens who might be sitting next to you now. The Nine had to separate and go into hiding.

The Mogadorian caught Number One in Malaysia, Number Two in England, and Number Three in Kenya. All of them were killed. John Smith, of Paradise, Ohio, is Number Four. He knows that he is next.

I AM NUMBER FOUR is the thrilling launch of a series about an exceptional group of teens as they struggle to outrun their past, discover their future—and live a normal life on Earth.

Book Specifications:

Author: Pittacus Lore a.k.a. James Frey

Format: Hardbound

Part of a Series: Yes. Lorien Legacies #1

Release Date: August 3, 2010

Publisher: HarperCollins

No. of Pages: 440 pages

Price: 639.00Php

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Romance, Adventure, Paranormal, Contemporary

Book Review:

The Cover: The cover featured a plain background incorporating colors of red, orange, an white. The title is also etched across said background in quite a little gruesome font. This cover is simple and may (or may not) have a little connection to what’s inside the book. I would’ve expected more from this cover, considering it’s a work of Science Fiction work from THE James Frey. I still liked it, though. (4 out of 5 stars)

CONFESSIONI’ll be honest. Once again, my decision of reading this book and starting the Lorien Legacies series is all because of the good recommendations of quite a few of my book friends. After attending the book signing event of James Frey (You may view my event recap here.), and after reading Endgame (Here’s a book review.), I actually got hooked up with James Frey and his writing style. For some reason, his fascination with aliens and other extra-terrestrial forms also seemed to have influenced me in some profound way. Thus, my reading of this book. I’m finding it cool, actually.

The Story: The story was about Number Four, an alien from the planet Lorien, and his growth, life, and adventures as a member of the Lorien Six who remains in hiding from the Mogadorians who are sent out to hunt and kill them. (That’s basically my whole synopsis for this book. It’s kinda cool that I was able to sum up the 440 pages of the book and shorten it to a sentence! Haha!) Following the life, growth, and character development of John Smith was quite a thrilling ride. I loved seeing him and his powers, or should I call them Legacies, slowly come to him and develop. I mean, come on! Telekinesis people! And not to mention the handy Lumen he has! Ugh, it’s so cool, you guys! (Behold the inner nerd that’s in me!) Oh, and to add to that, I don’t know if you’re a fan of Sarah Hart and her romance with our protagonist, John, but I know I am! I’m in love with their sweet budding romance, the same way I fell in love and admired Sarah and Jago’s love team from Endgame. And if ever you’re wondering, there IS a back story as to why several of James Frey’s books contains characters named Sarah, which I think is kinda cool and it makes his books unique. I love it! Oh, and the brief introduction to Number Six is absolutely the bomb! (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.* The death of John’s Cêpan, Brandon a.k.a. Henri, is just as heartbreaking as any break-up there is in this damned world. I mean, yes, I watched the movie way before I read the book, and I anticipated this death, but reading it in words is heart-achingly painful. Henri was the best (and only) dad that John ever had. He was the sweetest Dad I have came to read about, to be honest, and so his death is really painful for me. In addition to that, the uncertainty between John and Sarah’s relationship was painful for me as well. Seeing Sarah, fully invested with her romance with John, as the truck that took her love, Number Six and Sam drove on was just too much. I might be acting a little too dramatic here but seeing their relationship grow into something they’ll be proud of and then eventually getting separated was, again, heart-breaking. No. Just, no. But don’t get me wrong. I loved that ending! (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: Reading this book and starting this series might be one of the greatest decisions I have ever made. Action-packed, and filled with the right amounts of swoon, mystery, and thrill, I Am Number Four and the Lorien Legacies will indeed allure dozens of thousands of readers worldwide. No doubt about it. Oh, and I hope that someone would produce the sequel to the movie already! Looking forward to reading it as well. (4.67 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“I miss you.” I say.
“You miss me? But I’m right here.”
“That’s the worst way to miss somebody. When they’re right beside you and you miss them anyway.” – John Smith to Sarah Hart

“When you have lost hope, you have lost everything. And when you think all is lost, when all is dire and bleak, there is always hope.” – Henri

“We don’t have to be defined by the things we did or didn’t do in our past. Some people allow themselves to be controlled by regret. Maybe it’s a regret, maybe it’s not. It’s merely something that happened. Get over it.” – Henri

“Those things that are the most obvious are the very things we’ve most likely to overlook.”

“The price of a memory, is the memory of the sorrow it brings.”

FOOTER

Leave a Reply

