[Book Review #23] The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore

15861491

The Garde are finally reunited, but do they have what it takes to win the war against the Mogadorians?

John Smith—Number Four—thought that things would change once the Garde found each other. They would stop running. They would fight the Mogadorians. And they would win.

But he was wrong. After facing off with the Mogadorian ruler and almost being annihilated, the Garde know they are drastically unprepared and hopelessly outgunned. Now they’re hiding out in Nine’s Chicago penthouse, trying to figure out their next move.

The six of them are powerful, but they’re not strong enough yet to take on an entire army—even with the return of an old ally. To defeat their enemy, the Garde must master their Legacies and learn to work together as a team. More importantly, they’ll have to discover the truth about the Elders and their plan for the Loric survivors.

And when the Garde receive a sign from Number Five—a crop circle in the shape of a Loric symbol—they know they are so close to being reunited. But could it be a trap? Time is running out, and the only thing they know for certain is that they have to get to Five before it’s too late.

The Garde may have lost battles, but they will not lose this war.

Lorien will rise again.

Book Specifications:

Author: Pittacus Lore a.k.a. James Frey

Format: Hardbound

Part of a Series: Yes. Lorien Legacies #4

Release Date: August 27, 2013

Publisher: HarperCollins

No. of Pages: 355 pages

Price: 625.00Php

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Romance, Adventure, Paranormal, Contemporary

Book Review:

The Cover: I liked the metallic feel of the dust jacket for this specific book. The connection between this cover and Five’s legacy to adapt and transform into any texture he touches is quite good. But I’m beginning to tire of these kinds of “bland” covers. I like it, though. (4 out of 5 stars)

The Story: This book was all about the training and preparations made by the remaining Garde to put up a fight against the Mogadorians after escaping the Dulce Base, which we are familiar with thanks to the previous installment, The Rise of Nine. The story was mostly about the individual struggles of the remaining Garde, and their constant arguments against one another. Below are some of my comments about several scenes from the book.

  • The character developments were all quite interesting. We got to see different sides of our protagonists like Number Seven, who I didn’t quite expect to have fallen in love with Number Eight (Or am I just assuming this?) in a short amount of time. John Smith also developed into a leader, which I never thought was possible. He was, at first, always portrayed as someone who was in a constant struggle trying to find out what was the thing that made him different. I guess he found that out here in this book.
  • Ever since they met him, Number Five was extremely suspicious. He, unlike the others, really wasn’t open towards the other Garde. He was absolutely reserved, and his actions truly spoke louder than his words. He told them that he was willing to train and fight alongside them, but his actions said otherwise. He was nowhere near committed or interested with their cause which made him all the more suspicious. Hello! Your home planet was destroyed by the enemies and you can’t even be bothered to train. Ugh it’s so frustrating!
  • The last detail that I want to emphasize is Ella (Number Ten)’s issue of not being able to wake up from a dream or nightmare, and the dangerous possibility of having others join her just with a mere touch. Specifically speaking, Ella dragged John into her nightmare, allowing John a glimpse into what Ella was dreaming about. I don’t know if this is a legacy or an ailment, but I would love for this to have a development within the next few books.

Overall, I liked the story. Not as much as I like The Rise of Nine, but I still liked it. There are some scenes that felt unnecessary for me, but hey. I still liked it nonetheless. (4 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: As I have probably mentioned on my Goodreads review of this book, I was spoiled of Number Eight’s dead and Number Five’s treachery. I knew it was coming, and I thought I was 100% ready for it. But reading the death of Number Eight in excruciatingly painful detail was like steeping into your death as well. It was so painful that I had to stop for a few minutes and try to at least fathom the situation and get myself together. I know for a fact that killing Number Eight was never Number Five’s intention. It was an accident, and he, too, was surprised by what he had done. But there was no turning back from that. He was never going to be a part of them anymore. He killed Number Eight, and he faced the wrath of a Marina scorned. It felt redeeming when I read about Marina puncturing Number Five’s eye. It felt good! And a positive thing about this ending is Marina developing a Queen Elsa Powers-like type of legacy. That was so cool, and I can’t wait for this to develop. (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: Again, as I have probably mentioned above, I liked this book. Not as much as I liked the previous installment, but the character and legacy development in this book was worth reading. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series, The Revenge of Seven. (4.33 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“Wow, Johnny. I send you out for reinforcements and you come back with an old man, a nerd and this little hobbit guy. Great job.” – Nine

“Hell, even I’m a little surprised by Nine–between this and our little heart-to-heart in the doorway earlier, I might have to upgrade him from total douche bag to minor tool.”

“That ugly freak has spent so much time in my head, I should be charging him rent.” – Four

FOOTER

 

Leave a Reply

