[Book Review #29] The Heir by Kiera Cass

22918050

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

Book Specifications:

Author: Kiera Cass

Format: Hardbound

Part of a Series: Yes. The Selection Series #4

Release Date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

No. of Pages: 342 pages

Price: 685.00Php

Genre:  Romance, Drama, Chick Lit, Young Adult, Love, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy

Book Review:

The Cover: Need I actually say more? Being the 4th book in the Selection Series, I was expecting highly of the cover. The cover, as I said, needed to remain regal, plain, and yet extremely elegant. Was I disappointed? NO I WAS NOT. Featuring a different face from the 3 past covers, it was important that they asked the help of a different model to represent this 4th installment, considering that it was told from a different perspective. But everything still looks perfect to me. Don’t you agree? (5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: Well, the story, obviously, is about Eadlyn Schreave’s rise to fame as she trains and follows the footsteps of her parents to claim the throne of Illéa while trying to find her very own prince in the process of saying yes to her own Selection. The story was filled with just the right amount of romance, wit, and substance, just like the previous installments in the series. Below are some good details about the story:

  • I love how Eadlyn, to date, is the most feisty protagonist I have ever came to read about. She’s like the main protagonist AND antagonist of her own story. In the beginning of the book, she has so many issues which I know will hinder her happily ever after the end. But, thankfully, her character development was extremely satisfying as well. In a span of 342 pages, she went from a brat princess, to a regal queen-to-be. I loved this fact about The Heir.
  • I like how America and Maxon were depicted in this 20-years-later novel. America, unlike when she was undergoing her own selection, was no longer whiny, and she was more focused than ever and procrastination was no longer her strongest suit. Maxon, as responsible as he ever is, came to be the King that Illéa truly deserves. Amidst all the issues in their small country, it still seems that they did arrive at a happily ever after kind of situation. They’re royalty. They have fantastic children. And they have the most loyal friends. I don’t think it’s going to get any better than that.
  • For me, Ahren Schreave, Eadlyn’s twin brother, wasn’t really paid enough attention. I know he’s 7 minutes late to become the heir. He’s in love with Princess Camille. But other than these major details, I don’t think I know him at all. I wish he just got a chapter that was dedicated to telling readers a little bit more about who would’ve claimed the throne if Eadlyn wasn’t 7 minutes early. The same goes for Kaden and Osten. Hopefully, I get to see what happens to them on the next (and last) installment.
  • As for the suitors, they weren’t quite as I imagined. Some of my favorites are Henri (and Erik, they seem like a duo to me), Fox, Hale, and Kile. (KILE!!!!) For me, they were all equally deserving to hold Eadlyn’s heart (most specially Kile). I can’t wait for Eadlyn’s decision and it seems that the Selection was anyone’s game until the next book arrives. But how about you guys? Who are you rooting for? I am on #TeamKile. ♥
  • The spark between Eadlyn and Kile is totally undeniable. Am I right? Ever since Kile was introduced to us in the scene where they bump into each other, I knew right then at that moment that there was something about Kile that will make him one of the selected in Eadlyn’s own selection. And afterwards, once Kile was duly selected, their relationship just went on to a whole new level. There was a point where their relationship felt like abused by Eadlyn when she wanted Kile to kiss her while expecting the both of them to just be casual about it, but… You know what I mean, right? Haha! I just adore them both so much 🙂

I waited a whole year for this book, and I’m happy to say that I am more than satisfied with Eadlyn’s story and version of finding true love. Next to The One, this might be my most favorite book in the series. (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.*  AMERICA IS SICK YOU GUYS! Please hold me!!! I can’t even imagine Illéa without America Singer Schreave. I just can’t. For three books, I’ve been attached to her as a spoon is attached to a fork and I will just completely lose it if America really dies! Did I even mention how I hate the cliffhanger of an ending? Come on, Kiera! You know I love you, but why must you do this? WHY? Oh, and before I forget, I’m happy for Eadlyn being able to narrow down his pool of suitors to a number that suits The Elite. She might not have made a decision before this book ended but I am damn sure she will end up with a husband on the next installment! I can’t wait! Hopefully, it’s Kile. ♥ (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: Just like all other books in The Selection Series, this is a story that I will surely read on and on for the rest of my life. I will probably even let my future kids (should the Lord bless me) know the stories of America Singer, and Eadlyn Schreave, and their family. I seriously love this series, you guys, I can’t even explain it! (10 out of 5 stars) (is this even possible?)

Quotable Quotes:

“I’m not sure anyone knows what they’re looking for until they find it.”  – Eadlyn Schreave

“There are some things you don’t learn about yourself until you let someone else into the most intimate places of your heart.” – Eadlyn Schreave

“I only have one heart, and I’m saving it.” – Eadlyn Schreave

“You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.” – Ahren Schreave (THIS IS MY FAVORITE)

“I kept thinking that I couldn’t live my life for other people, that love was nothing but chains. And maybe it was, but so help me, I needed these chains.” – Eadlyn Schreave (ANOTHER FAVORITE, OMG)

“I’m not sure if fate or destiny is real. But I can tell you that sometimes the very thing you’ve been hoping for will walk through the door, determined to fend you off. And still, somehow, you will find that you are enough.” – Kile Woodwork

“Didn’t they know who I was, what they’d trained me for? I was Eadlyn Schreave. No one was more powerful than me. So if they thought I was going down without a fight, they were sadly mistaken.” – Eadlyn Schreave

FOOTER

3 thoughts on “[Book Review #29] The Heir by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

