[Book Review #36] Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

BOOK REVIEWS16034235

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Book Specifications:

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: Yes. Throne of Glass #1.

Release Date: August 7, 2012

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

No. of Pages: 404 pages

Price: 855.00Php

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, High Fantasy, Magic, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction Fantasy

Book Review:

The Cover: The cover on my copy features a lady with white hair wearing an absolutely gorgeous biker-chic type of outfit holding two assassin type swords (or blades). I JUST LOVE IT. And did I mention that it’s a large print hardbound book? Yeah. It is. I’m inhaling the glory of this book. Seriously. (5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: The plot follows the life of a Celaena Sardothien, otherwise known as Adarlan’s Assassin, know to be the most notorious in all the land. She was spending her eternity in the Salt Mines (Endovier) when she was collected and was sent to the Crown Prince of Adarlan, Prince Dorian Havilliard, where she was offered a chance at freedom. But first, she was to face 23 other champions, and once she was victorious, must prove her loyalty to the king and in four year’s time, will be given freedom. Below are some great details about the book:

  1. The characters were all spectacular! I loved Celaena from the start! Her badass-iness was absolutely exciting and I wanted to know more from her, making me able to resist many times to put down this book. I also loved her attitude. She was like a modern-day teenager: always angry and feisty, and I loved that about her! Chaol Westfall really reminded me of Four from Divergent, seeing that he was the one who trained Celaena, just like how Four trained Tris. He was sweet, and he didn’t want to admit it. He’s so cute, omg! And Dorian Havilliard. I can’t even begin to express how much I love him. I just do. I’m not going to go further with the other characters, but I loved them all! Their background stories, their developments! I just loved it! I can’t even choose a different word for it. I LOVED IT.
  2. The word building was so evident, rich, and just plain breathtaking. I had no trouble imagining Adarlan, Endovier, Eyllwe, and their entire world. Sarah Maas’ writing style was in every way easy to read and imagine that reading the first page of this book would instantly transport a reader to Adarlan. It was so rich and there was a lot happening, but the reader could still very well grasp the story. Oh, and the map included was very, very helpful. I loved it! Good God!
  3. As I’ve said above, I loved how angry Celaena was on the opening chapters of the book. It is in Anger where I find interest in, specially when it comes to badass female protagonists. But beyond Celaena’s anger and frustration, lies a very good reason for her to be everything that she is. And I love that her character development did occur, but she was a badass female in every step of the way. I just love these kinds of stories. And she might as well be THE best female protagonist since Katniss Everdeen. ‘Nuff said.
  4. I like how our protagonists, well except Chaol, had a fiery passion for the printed word! I just love it when the characters I read about are as in love with books as I am. I mean, come on! That scene where Prince Dorian sent Celaena some books that he “recently read”. That was soooo cute!
  5. Fleetfoot. I can’t even comprehend how I love Fleetfoot. Okay, that’s that.

That’s probably it. And I don’t want to have to tell everyone everything I love about this book because it might take me a hell of a lot longer before this gets posted. And I have a deadline, folks! Haha! (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.* The ending was as it should be for me. I mean, I’m not expecting anything yet, since it’s the first book in the series but it was a great way to sum up Throne of Glass. Celaena winning and becoming the King’s Assassin, Chaol killing Cain, Nehemia having a heart to heart talk with Celaena, Kaltain finally getting what she deserves, and Celaena gently letting down Dorian (YES! And yes, I’m on Team Chaol). I mean, it was a superb ending and I couldn’t have wished for anything more. (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: Before I started reading this book, I was about to give up on the fantasy genre for the sole reason that I binge read quite a disappointing fantasy novel, but just a single page from this book got me hooked up again! I will be reading the rest of the books in the series and will surely re-read again sometime soon! Adarlan is a fictional world that I want to be a part of! Well, only if I’m friends with Celaena, Chaol, Nehemia, and Prince Dorian. (5 out of 5 stars)

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.” – Badass Celaena Sardothien

“Sometimes, the wicked will tell us things just to confuse us–to haunt our thoughts long after we’ve faced them.” – Nehemia Ytger

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

“No. I can survive well enough on my own— if given the proper reading material.” – Celaena Sardothien

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”

“Names are not important. It’s what lies inside of you that matters.”

“I’m not married, because I can’t stomach the idea of marrying a woman inferior to me in mind and spirit. It would mean the death of my soul.” – Dorian Havilliard

“I name you Elentiya.” She kissed the assassin’s brow. “I give you this name to use with honour, to use when other names grow too heavy. I name you Elentiya, ‘Spirit That Could Not Be Broken.”

FOOTER

3 thoughts on “[Book Review #36] Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

