[Book Review #38] Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

BOOK REVIEWSIMG_4672

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Book Specifications:

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: Yes. Throne of Glass #2.

Release Date: August 27, 2013

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

No. of Pages: 418 pages

Price: 874.00Php

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, High Fantasy, Magic, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction Fantasy

Book Review:

The Cover: Just like the first book in the series, the cover features an image of a badass-looking woman, holding up two assassin swords/blades, but now, on this action-packed sequel to the Throne of Glass, the cover displays an orange background, with the same image seeming a lot more confident about herself. After accepting the fact that she is now the Champion of the King of Adarlan, she does seem a lot more sure about her plans and position, thus, the radiating kick-ass look. (5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: The story once again followed the life of Celaena Sardothien, otherwise known as Adarlan’s Assassin, after her victory over her other competitors for the title of the King’s Champion. In Crown of Midnight, we get to know our favorite assassin a little more. We discover a lot of back story for not only Celaena, but also for Dorian Havilliard, our favorite prince, and my all-time favorite Captain of the Guard, Chaol Westfall. Through this book, we also met a few more characters such as Archer Finn, Celaena’s old friend from the Assassin’s Keep, and a whole lot more. Below are some more details.

  • First and foremost, I would have to point that I am absolutely aboard the CHAOLAENA ship! Who’s with me? As the story started up until the middle part of the book, we saw quite a lot of my ship. Celaena fell in love with Chaol, and he with her. They were madly in love, and were absolutely ready to face the consequences until one certain thing that happened, which I will discuss onwards. But, I am still on that ship! I won’t change my mind!
  • As I started reading this book, I already knew that it will be as exciting as the first book, Throne of Glass. But boy, was I wrong! Crown of Midnight contained a lot more action in every page! Every chapter made me feel alive! Even the scenes where Chaol and Celaena seemed sweet, were full of swoon and excitement, something that I never thought of seeing in a novel as badass as the Throne of Glass series. *slow clap for Sarah J. Maas*
  • Archer’s motives with Celaena was downright predictable. The moment Celaena bargained with him for his life, I knew right away that he will betray our assassin. But his tricks weren’t predictable at all. He led Celaena to believe that Chaol was her enemy. That Nehemia, our beloved Princess of Eyllwe, hindered her to access her full potential as the King’s Champion. Well. Sarah did a great job making me hate him. But he really was relevant to the story. He made me realize that there are a lot of things that I, myself, didn’t know about Celaena.
  • Nehemia’s death was absolutely heart shattering. She was the perfect friend for Celaena. She was calm. She was regal, and her moves were always calculated: just as a Princess’s actions should have been. But sadly, she was taken away from us way too early. I don’t know if it’ll ever feel necessary, but I will always miss our rebel princess.
  • The amount of revelations in this single book is insane! We get to know more about Celaena, and her origin, I discovered a lot more about Dorian than I’ve honestly anticipated, and the insurmountable amount of details, are not in anyway predictable, making the whole book and the whole series very exciting.

The story was incredible! I couldn’t have asked for more! (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.* Can anyone actually believe that our Celaena Sardothien is Aelin Ashryver Galathynius? That she is the true Queen of Terrasen? Boy! I have to admit! it didn’t become obvious for me until I was reading the last chapter of the book, but OH MY GOD! Why haven’t I seen this coming? It was a perfect fit! She’s a brave and noble assassin. Terrasen is a land known for its solidity. She was the perfect Queen. Hands down! Although, in a different note, I’m not too happy for Celaena, sailing off to Wendlyn leaving Chaol Westfall in Rifthold. That is just so sad. But that was quite an ending, to be honest! (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: All in all, this second book in the Throne of Glass Series is tremendous for a sequel. The characters were immensely developed, the world, Erilea, was given an adept building, and it just made the whole series a lot more exciting! I seriously can’t wait for the next installment, Heir of Fire! (5 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“Believe me, Celaena, I know you can look after yourself. But I worry because I care. Gods help me, I know I shouldn’t but I do. So I will always tell you to be careful, because I will always care what happens.” – Chaol Westfall

“You have power in you, Prince. More power than you realize. It sleeps. In here. When the time comes, when it awakens, do not be afraid. When it is time, I will help you.” – Nehemia Ytger

“I can’t tell if I should be ashamed of wanting to hold you on this day, or grateful that, despite what happened before now, it somehow brought me to you.” – Celaena Sardothien

“The rest of the world quieted into nothing. In that moment, after ten long years, Celaena looked at Chaol and realised she was home.”

“What does that mean?” he demanded.
She smiled sadly. “You’ll figure it out. And when you do…” She shook her head, knowing she shouldn’t say it, but doing it anyway. “When you do, I want you to remember that it wouldn’t have made any difference to me. It’s never made any difference to me when it came to you. I’d still pick you. I’ll always pick you.”

“Who said anything about shame?” She gestured down to her naked body, even though it was covered by the blanket. “Honestly, I’m surprised you’re not strutting about, boasting to everyone. I certainly would be if I’d tumbled me.
“Does your love for yourself know no bounds?”
“Absolutely none.”

“Enough! We have enough enemies as it is! There are worse things out there to face!”
Celaena slowly turned to him, her face splattered with blood and eyes blazing bright. “No, there aren’t,” she said. “Because I’m here now.”

Good God! That’s just half of the quotes that I really want to share, guys! This is such a great book!

FOOTER

8 thoughts on “[Book Review #38] Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

