[Book Review #40] A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

BOOK REVIEWSIMG_4826

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Book Specifications:

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: Yes. A Court of Thorns and Roses #1.

Release Date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

No. of Pages: 416 pages

Price: 874.00Php

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, High Fantasy, Magic, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction Fantasy

Book Review:

The Cover: Featuring a blood red background with a silhouette of forest tress on the right, and an incomplete image of a woman or a huntress, per se, the cover of this new book from a new series is absolutely stunning! It’s regal, it’s complex, and there’s just no words to describe it better. Plus the addition of the title in a simple font style, and the white color, for the title, blended beautifully with the red background. I am in awe right now! (4.5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: A Court of Thorns and Roses is a retelling of the classic fairy tale, Beauty and the Beast, where a mere mortal falls in love with a creature who is living under a curse. True, the story did seem similar to said fairy tale, but Sarah J. Maas, once again, shocked me, along with a lot of her readers, with her best work yet! She told the story of Feyre, a mundane huntress who, expectedly, falls in love with Tamlin, a High Lord of the Spring Court who’s living his cursed life. Her writing, as creative as ever, propelled me to turn the pages of this book rapidly, just like with what happened with my reading of the books in the Throne of Glass Series. Once again, Maas introduced us to wonderfully developed characters, strategically invented worlds, and creatively imagined creatures. Matched with a great writing style, A Court of Thorns and Roses, just like all of Sarah J. Maas’ books will not disappoint readers with a heart for High Fantasy. (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.* I know what happened when Beauty and the Beast ended. Belle broke the beast’s curse, and they lived happily ever after. But, of course, with Sarah J. Maas controlling the story, there’s bound to be some twists and changes. But there’s quite a lot of elements that made me fall madly in love with this book’s ending: Again, just like always, I’m listing it down.

  • Amarantha’s riddle? Yeah, if I just heard that before the story ended, I would’ve guessed the answer ASAP! I don’t know, but I felt like it was absolutely easy for me to comprehend.

“For though each of my strikes land a powerful blow,
When I kill, I do it slow…
But scorned, I become a difficult beast to defeat.
But I bless all those who are brave enough to dare.”

Yep, the answer is LOVE!!

  • Amarantha’s last task for Feyre, in which she was tasked to stab three innocent Faeries was, in every way, heartless. I had a painful time reading that chapter, but I have to say, when I got to the part where she was supposed to stab Tamlin himself, all hell broke loose in me! I had to compose myself before reading on, and was so happy to discover that everything was just a false alarm. *Phew*
  • Amarantha’s death, for some reason even I can’t comprehend, wasn’t at all predictable to me. I actually predicted for a main character to die before the story ended but I am thanking every thanking every God in Olympus for having that nasty wannabe queen killed!
  • I never imagined or predicted for Feyre to become High Fae, but I have to admit that I am absolutely curious as to what happens to her next. Along with all the characters, they took me for such a joyous ride!

As I’ve expected from the beginning, once again, Sarah J. Mass did not disappoint, and with this book, she just became my favorite author in the High Fantasy genre! (5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: The only mistake I’ve made in reading this book, is that I have to start waiting now for the sequel to arrive. That is one of the biggest mistakes I have ever made. But, just like any other books by Sarah J. Maas, this is pure gold! (4.83 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“I threw myself into that fire, threw myself into it, into him, and let myself burn.” – Feyre

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.” – Tamlin

“I love you, thorns and all.” – Tamlin

“You look . . . better than before.”
Was that a compliment? I could have sworn Lucien gave Tamlin an encouraging nod.
“And you hair is . . . clean.”

“Because when the legends get written, I didn’t want to be remembered for standing on the sidelines. I want my future offspring to know that I was there, and that I fought against her in the end, even if I couldn’t do anything useful.” – Rhysand

“I would have been gentle with you, though. I would have had you moaning my name throughout it all. And I would have taken a very, very long time, Feyre.” – Tamlin

FOOTER

10 thoughts on “[Book Review #40] A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

