[Book Review #45] Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

BOOK REVIEWSIMG_5695

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Book Specifications:

Author: Nicola Yoon

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: No. Standalone.

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

No. of Pages: 320 pages

Price: $19.66. Special thanks to Dianne of Oops! I Read a Book Again for lending me her own copy.

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction, Realistic Fiction

Book Review:

The Cover: I don’t know if you guys out there have a knack for cover-buy books, but if you do, you would HAVE to agree with me in saying that the cover of Everything, Everything is absolutely magnificent. It’s white, plus the abstract illustrations are to die for. I couldn’t even care less if there’s any relation to the story. It’s just that beautiful! (5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: Everything, Everything took me to a time when I first fell in love with the Young Adult age category. It was absolutely a delighting read, filled with great turns of events, adorable characters, and impressively delivered settings. It’s not that I automatically expect the worst from debut novels, but I surely did not expect for me to love this one as much as I did.

Nicola Yoon did an effortless job in making me fall in love with Madeline and Oliver. It literally took me the first few pages to hook me up, which isn’t a usual occurrence. With a regular 3-star read, it’s a standard for me to take at least a fee chapters before I get attached with the characters. But in Yoon’s debut novel, I literally went from unaware to down right obsessed. Maddy is different and lovable in her own special way, while Olly was in every way, an image of a perfect book boyfriend: He’s active, thoughtful, sweet, and he’s a genuine guy. Paired with an impeccable writing technique, and a rapid pacing, these components aided this novel in making me fall head over heels infatuated.

Nicola’s tactic in telling Madeline’s story is unique and it actually works. To make the story a whole lot more vivid, Yoon made use of emails, illustrations, charts, and a lot more. There is something about how she writes that makes a reader want to turn pages rapidly, waiting in anticipation as to what was to happen next. In a way, her writing is very poetic and humorous, making me fall in love more with her novel.

I adored the illustrations done by David Yoon. They were very cute and it just made me want to turn the next few pages faster than anticipated. I actually finished this book in a day, and I am persuaded that the reason as to why this is so, is because of those attractive in-book illustrations. Also, it made the story a lot more realistic for me, giving me concrete images of plane tickets, medical documents, charts, and such.

Again, I didn’t expect myself to fall deep in love with this book the way I did, with all the mixed reviews it got from a lot of Philippine YA Bloggers, but I am making a firm stand on my decision. I love Everything, Everything and it just broke through my most favorite reads! (5 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: It did not end the way I predicted it. I actually assumed for someone to die. I started reading this equipped with the right amount of feels and assumptions so I don’t get hurt as the story comes to a close. And with my heartbreaking standards, I’m glad to say that this is the first time that I’m happy to have been so wrong.

However, I was hoping for a more concrete closure for Maddy’s mom. I know what she’s going through. It’s not easy to lose a husband and a son, let alone let her daughter just pass her by, if you know what I mean. She did what she thought was best for both her, and Maddy. I completely understand what she’s going through, and the way that she was just tossed aside after the big plot twist was quite cruel for me. I wish at least a chapter was dedicated to her. But I STILL LOVED THIS BOOK THOUGH! (4.5 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: Without even having to put in too much effort, Nicola Yoon did a marvelous job breaking through to my most favorite reads of all time! I don’t even see a negative thing to say about this book. Perfection. Just plain perfection! I want to read more books from Nicola now. Preferably now. Like right now. (4.83 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“We’ve been together in this house for fifteen years, so I know what I’m talking about. When I first started with you, I thought it was only a matter of time before depression would take you over. And there was that one summer when it came close, but it didn’t happen. Every day, you get up and learn something new. Every day, you find something to be happy about. Every single day you have a smile for me.” – Carla

“And it’s the wanting that pulls me back down to earth hard. The wanting scares me. It’s like a weed that spreads slowly, just beneath your notice. Before you know it, it’s pitted your surfaces and darkened your windows.” – Madeline

“It’s weird to miss something you’ve never had–or don’t remember having anyway.” – Oliver

“You can’t predict the future. It turns out that you can’t predict the past either. Time moves in both directions – forward and backward – and what happens here and now changes them both.”

“I decide then that love is a terrible, terrible thing. Loving someone as fiercely as my mom loves me must be like wearing your heart outside of your body with no skin, no bones, no nothing to protect it.” – Madeline

“Sometimes you do things for the right reasons and sometimes for the wrong ones and sometimes it’s impossible to tell the difference.” – Madeline

“I was happy before I met him. But I’m alive now, and those are not the same thing.” – Madeline

“Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.” – Oliver

ENOUGH WITH THE QUOTES! JUST BUY THE BOOK!

About The Author:

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.

Twitter || Goodreads || Website

FOOTER

12 thoughts on “[Book Review #45] Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

