[Book Tags #4] The How I Read Book Tag

Processed with MOLDIV

Not too long ago, Joey of Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna of Reading with Jenna tagged me to do 2 book tags for my blog. She basically combined the How I Read Tag with the TBR Book Tag but I, personally, wanted to separate it and create two posts out of one tagging. Thank you for tagging me, friends! You are both wonderful! (Check out Jenna’s post here, and Joey’s post here.)

So, basically, just like most of the tags I am tagged to do, there are some questions for me to answer. Read on for my answers to the How I Read Book Tag.

How do you find out about new books to read?

I usually find out about new books to read through the grapevine. I get book recommendations, basically from everywhere, actually. Goodreads is one of my reliable sources from where I get titles to add to my TBR. I also value what my book blogging friends have to recommend, even if they usually give me new titles to read. I’m not going to deny this, the hype also helps in determining the next book I’ll be reading. Hey, there’s nothing wrong in wanting to be part of the hype, right? Books I’ve read because of the hype include Confess by Colleen Hoover, Legend by Marie Lu, and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. And lastly, I have Epic Reads to thank for their monthly list of most anticipated reads. I don’t know, but every time they publish this, I get a little stressed about it, if you know what I mean.

How did you get into reading?

When I was still a High School Sophomore, I picked up The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan because I got hooked up with it just by reading the synopsis. I am a huge fan of Greek Mythology and seeing that Rick incorporate that into a story for children made me absolutely curious. I read the whole series in one summer, and I wasn’t even a full-time bibliophile back then. I stopped reading for leisure come senior year. It took me 2 more years to get back to it when my best friend gave me Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan as a gift. When I read that, it reminded me how much I loved reading and I had to carry on with my love for the printed word.

How has your taste in books changed as you got older?

Just like a growing child, my taste in choosing books to read expands every day. Back when I first came back from a reading hiatus, I only read Young Adult Romance books. As time went by, I added Fantasy to the mix, then mystery, thriller, until one day, I found myself reading New Adult books. I’m actually quite proud of how my taste improved over the years. And hopefully, I can read a lot more diversely as my bookish life progresses.

How often do you buy books?

Please don’t judge me, okay? But I buy a book at least once a week. It actually depends if there’s an ongoing sale because if that’s the case, I usually take advantage of it and hoard tons of books. I actually want to thank my handy dandy discount cards for being so useful whenever I impulsively buy books.

I actually have a segment here on my blog called Stacking The Shelves, where I tell you all about my book hauls. You may check it out here.

How did you get into book reviewing?

I’ve been a blogger for over eight years now, and before, my blog was just like a diary where I share my thoughts. A persobal blog account, per se. I am an outgoing and opinionated person, and I loved sharing my thoughts with everyone. And so, when I started seeing how much I wanted to share my opinions about a specific book to the world, I decided to start up my own book blog and write reviews.

How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

I can only remember my reaction when I finished reading We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Please don’t hate me for this, but I REALLY DISLIKE THAT BOOK. And as the story came to an end, I just found myself dumbfounded because of the ending. Well, yeah, I appreciate the plot twist and stuff, but oh god, is that it? I wanted to throw away my copy of that book but I didn’t because back then, I knew E. Lockhart was going to visit for a signing event. But that sums up my reaction for when I dislike a book’s ending. I breathe. I reflect. Then I rant violently online or to my friends.

How often do you take a sneak peek at the ending to see if there is a happy ending?

Fun fact: I hate spoilers. But I can’t seem to avoid doing this. Whenever I read books, I usually check out the next few pages in hopes of seeing if there’s a happy ending waiting for me. I do this with most of the books I’m reading but I don’t read enough to get spoiled.


 

Thanks again, Jenna, for tagging me to do this! I enjoyed answering this one. And now, I’m tagging the following to do this tag as well:

Feel free to answer the questions, you guys! Tell me all about your reading experiences in the comment section below.

Until the next one, loveies!

FOOTER

4 thoughts on “[Book Tags #4] The How I Read Book Tag

Leave a Reply

