[Bookish Thoughts #3] JM’s Top Fifteen (15) Books of 2015

Processed with MOLDIV

I’ve been meaning to post this for quite some time now but I’ve only found the inspiration to draft it this morning, so… Today, I’m bravely sharing my Top 15 Reads of 2015!

I know it goes against the idea of a “Bookish Thoughts” post, seeing that it’s a list, but, as the year draws to a close, I realized why not give this post some special treatment, seeing that it’ll be my last for 2015?

I had an extremely difficult time narrowing down the 51 books I have read this year to only 15. (Please don’t judge me for only reading 51 books this year. Give me credit, I’m also a very hardworking student who’s meant to graduate next year if I’m blessed enough. Life isn’t as easy as 1, 2, 3. Hahaha!) To be honest, for 2015, I haven’t read a single book that was cringeworthy, and this made the preparation for this post a whole lot harder.

So, without further ado, let me present you 15 of the best reads I’ve came to read and review this 2015!

img_3382#15. Red Rising by Pierce Brown – This novel was one of the first books I’ve read this year. It was about a lowly character who then infiltrated the world of those who claims to be above other people to prove a point. I loved every page of it. Although, I did refrain myself to read the next book, Golden Son. I wanted to binge read the whole series once the third book, Morning Star, was out. Check out my review of this book here.img_3387#14. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – I’ve read this during the period when I was the busiest. October was quite a stressful month for me, and one of the highlights of that month was my reading of this fantastic book. I have to admit, Red Queen had shade from some of my most favorite dystopian series, but Victoria Aveyard pulled it off! A great blend of something old, and something new! Check out my review of this book here.IMG_5571#13. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – When I first got the ARC for this, I was like “How am I supposed to finish this in 7 days time?”. Little did I know that it was going to be one of the fastest books I’ve read for the year! It had quite a lot of pages, and yet, the reader won’t have a hard time with it. Filled with illustrations, and other visuals that are made for the betterment of the story, Illuminae is indeed a thrilling start to an even more thrilling trilogy! Check out my review of this book here.IMG_4961 (1)#12. What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler – How could I forget the very first ARC (in print!!) I have ever reviewed? What We Saw was an outstanding coming-of-age story about a common girl goes out of her way to do what she feels is morally correct, even if her whole social circle goes against it. The Mystery genre, as I have mentioned in my review, wasn’t my main forte, but I’m glad I listed this book as one of my most anticipated release of 2015. It was fast-paced, partnered with a vividly interesting story line, thus, making it quite a great read! Check out my review of this book here.

IMG_5673

#11. Fans of The Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa – I won a physical ARC of this book through National Bookstore, and I’m still thanking Josiah, The Bookish Fanboy, for giving me his extra copy! Fans of The Impossible Life says a lot about social issues like bullying, depression, and whatnot, and I am so happy that I got to read and review this. It was all about diversity, friendship, and a whole lot more. Check out my review of this book here.
IMG_6030#10. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy – Dumplin’ was very unique, and yet, it feels utterly relatable and nostalgic. I loved every single page of it and Julie’s concept of telling the story of a confident, bright, fat-girl was genius. Reading this was like reading a book of self-help on how to gain one’s confidence after losing it. Again, I hope that with the success of Dumplin’, authors would be encouraged to write about flawed, but brave and confident characters. Check out my review of this book here.

IMG_4826

#9. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – In my review, I stated that this book “was pure gold”. And I stand by my decision to do so. ACOTAR was a great mix of both steamy romance and high fantasy action. What more could a YA Literature enthusiast such as myself, ask for? Check out my review of this book here.

img_3058

#8. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – This book has got to be the mother of all things Diverse in Young Adult Literature. It screams just that and I am so ecstatic to tell the world that I am now a big, fat (literally) Simonite! With my reading of this book, comes my resolution of reading lots more diverse books next year, 2016. I loved every single page of this book, and I seriously can’t wait for whatever Becky has in store for her readers. Check out my review of this book here.

IMG_5202

#7. Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith – Among all the ARCs that I have come to review this year, this one is my absolute favorite! Jennifer E. Smith may not be my most favorite author out there, but she certainly came close this 2015! Hello, Goodbye is indeed one of my biggest favorites for it was utterly light, and yet, it had an extreme amount of swoon. The characters in it taught the readers how hard it is to be attached to something that doesn’t give you assurance of what tomorrow has in store. I loved this! Check out my review of this book here.

IMG_4672

#6. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas – I actually had a hard time picking if this was my 6th on this list, or would it be Throne of Glass because that first book was the actual novel which got me to love Sarah J. Maas. This sequel, however, was filled with too much feels for a single book. I didn’t want for both of the books to be on the list because it would take too much space, but Throne of Glass was, indeed, one of the best books I’ve read this year. Check out my review of this book here.

AND NOW WE’RE DOWN TO MY TOP 5!

Before you move forth with this post, let me first tell you how hard it was for me to choose the top 5 books in this list. As the year started out, I had one book named as my favorite, but as the year went by, 4 more books rose up to the challenge of being my most favorite book of 2015. Read on, booknerds!
IMG_1735

#5. Cress by Marissa Meyer – The Lunar Chronicles is one of the many series that I have started reading this 2015. Cress, being the third book in the series, happens to be one of my most favorites this year! It’s a Sci-Fi retelling of the classic fairy tale, Rapunzel, and it was, as I have guessed, one breathtaking book. The Lunar Chronicles is a series that keeps getting better and better with every book, and this one’s my best bet, so far. The amount of both romance, action, and self-discovery through androids and technology was immense! It’s an understatement to say that this is an awesome sequel to the series. Check out my review of this book here.
img_3395#4. Confess by Colleen Hoover – Heart-shattering. Mind-blowing. Feels-filled. Those are just some words that I deem best to describe Confess with. With Confess, Colleen Hoover just won my heart. I actually buddy read this with Aly Almario, who happens to be one of my many friends from the bookstagram community, and we both fell head over heels for both Owen Mason Gentry, and Auburn Mason Reed. I can still recall how my heart rode an emotional roller coaster with this book. *sobs* Check out my review of this book here.FullSizeRender (1)

#3. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – Towards the first few months of 2015, this happened to be #1 on my most favorite reads. Just like Confess, All The Bright Places was also heartbreaking and yet, it was also filled with just the right amount of Romance. Jennifer’s characters were well written, and the reader WILL grow an attachment towards them. I will never forget how many buckets of tears I cried while reading this novel. Check out my review of this book here.

IMG_1512-0

#2. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – I will never get over this book. Aristotle and Dante were both such amazing characters and this book, in my opinion, has to be the Father of Young Adult Diversity. Not only was this book about a young boy who had struggles growing up, it was also about the questions you encounter as YOU grow up. The challenges YOU face as you find more about yourself. That was what made this book stand out for me: I learned more about myself through Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle, and Dante. Check out my review of this book here.

IMG_5695

#1. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – I don’t even know how to put my thoughts about this into writing. Everything, Everything was an absolute delight! Not only was it fast-paced and was partnered by such cute and well-developed characters, but it also happens to be one of the best romance novels I have ever came to read. Also, Maddie and Oliver were two contrasting characters, paving the way for a well-matched couple, and a well-written story. AND there are legit cute illustrations inside, you guys! It may be a shallow reason but that alone made this book stand-out for me. I loved this book, and I absolutely adore Nicola Yoon! Check out my review of this book here.


There you have it, you guys! Written here are some of the best books I came across this 2015. Some of these books are also in my friends top 15, and some are not. This just goes to show that our modern literary community is ever-changing and the preferences of each and every bookworm out there does indeed vary. Diversity is among us, and I am absolutely glad that the bookish community is more than able to adapt to that fact.

Here’s to hoping that I encounter more diverse books next year! And here’s to hoping for an even more productive year for me, and my blog, Book Freak Revelations.

As this will be my last post for the year, I also want to thank EVERYONE who I met and came across with. Authors, co-bloggers, bookish friends, my blog would not get the online attention it got without you guys. And with that, I THANK YOU! 🙂

Now, what’s YOUR most favorite read of the year? Tell me all about it in the comments section below!

Happy New Year, booknerds!

FOOTER

17 thoughts on “[Bookish Thoughts #3] JM’s Top Fifteen (15) Books of 2015

    1. I’m glad you’ve read some of these books and are planning to read the others, Yvonne! These books made my 2015 a whole lot bearable seeing that 2015 was an utter bitch to me lol. But anyway, please get back to me once you’ve read the others so that we could fangirl together, okay? 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by, my friend! 🙂

      Like

  1. Looks like you had an amazing year of reading – 51 books is loads (especially if you’re a student!), and it looks like you read some awesome books too! Simon vs was amazing, and I really loved Ari and Dante too – both were so special and meaningful, but really cute and fun too.

    I hope you have an equally god 2016 for reading, and read even more great books! ❤
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Denise! Thank you for noticing, and yes, I believe I had a great year of reading last 2015. I came across such amazing books and I am happy to have shared my happiness with the world. And I agree, Simon VS and Ari and Dante were both fantastic and should be given pedestals for being so diverse.

      Thank you for dropping by, Denise, and I hope you’ll have a blessed 2016 as well! 🙂

      Like

    1. I don’t mean to deny my adoration for Strawberry Oreos but ABSOLUTELY NOT! That on the photo with Simon VS. happens to be Double Stuffed Oreos, and I prefer that over any variant. #Sorrynotsorry

      Thank you for dropping by, Joey! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

