[Book Review #66] No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista

img_5507

It’s all fun and parties until someone falls in love in this modern fairy tale from author Kate Evangelista.

Caleb desperately needs a fake girlfriend. Either he attends a series of parties for his father’s law firm with a pretty girl on his arm, or he gets shipped off to Yale to start a future he’s not ready for and isn’t sure he wants. And sadly, the last unattached girl in his social circle has just made the grievous mistake of falling in love with him. Fortunately, Didi, recently fired waitress and aspiring painter, is open to new experiences. As the summer ticks by in a whirl of lavish parties, there’s only one rule: They must not fall in love!

Book Specifications:

Author: Kate Evangelista

Format: Trade Paperback

Part of a Series: Yes. Dodge Cove #1.

Release Date: April 19, 2016

Publisher: Swoon Reads

No. of Pages: 256 pages

Price: Php489.00

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Fiction, Mental Illness

Book Review:

img_5484

Ever since I read Everything, Everything last year, I was on a constant lookout for the next book that I’ll get to finish in a day. I loved binge reading books that have light yet gripping premises and plots, because other than it helps with my Goodreads Reading Challenge, it also gets me out of a book slump. Now, upon discovery of Kate Evangelista’s No Love Allowed, I was more than ecstatic to have read another literary masterpiece! Just with the synopsis alone, I knew I was going to have a fun and memorable reading experience!

The story revolved on three tropes, as confessed by Kate herself during her book launch: Marriage of Convenience, Ugly Duckling Turned Swan, and Across the Tracks trope, all of which made the story all the more interesting, giving readers a glimpse of how unique the story is.

When I first saw No Love Allowed on the internet, my immediate thought was that it looked like my type of romantic-contemporary novel. Based from the cover alone, I knew that once I read it, it will give me an amazing reading experience as far as my feels were concerned. And after meeting the fantastic author behind this novel in person, I knew it was necessary for me to finally read No Love Allowed.

I liked how Kate made every major detail of the story straight to the point. An example would be the way our main characters, Caleb and Didi, met. Kate didn’t throw in excessive details as to how their story began, and that made the story all the more simple and easy to appreciate. And it wasn’t just with the way they met. Their whole arrangement, which the story solely revolved on, was also easy to grow an attachment to because of how easy it was to comprehend. Their were minimal details, and yet the story seemed to have required not more than what was delivered. I loved that about this book, and perhaps it was what made it a quick read.

Another factor which made me love this work of art, was how well written all the characters were from start to end. Caleb, at first, seemed like the most egotistical guy in the entire planet. But as the pages of the book grew thinner, he turned into someone who is as passionate as he was attractive. In just a few pages, we see how in love he was with Didi that all his views about Love seemed to have changed. He turned into a male protagonist that a reader could root for. As for Didi, she was a brave and spontaneous girl who had a knack for the arts as the story began. But, again, towards the ending of the book, we see how deteriorated she became because of her illness, and obviously, this development did not work in her favor. However, it was still a form of “development”, and the story turned out wonderful, so I have nothing to say about that.

Before I end my review, I also wanted to point out how lovely it was to read about Nathan, Caleb’s cousin, and Preston. I know that there’s already a follow-up book about their Summer Vacation in Europe, entitled No Holding Back (October 2016), and just knowing that their story revolves around the “Bestfriend turned Lovers” trope, I’m already sold, and I absolutely (ABSOLUTELY!!!) can’t wait to read that one! It’s actually what made me want to finally read No Love Allowed!

“All in all, No Love Allowed is more than just a romantic contemporary novel. It allows it’s readers to grow an attachment towards not just the characters, but the premise and story as well, because of how well written the entire book is. If you prefer reading a contemporary with a light premise, then this might just be the book for you.”

RATING:

Characters – 4.50

Plot – 4.50

Writing Style – 4.50

Pacing – 5.00

Ending – 4.00

TOTAL – 4.5 / 5 Stars

Quotable Quotes:

“That was when I realized all love does is hurt people. It lulls you into false sense of security, and then bam! You slam into a brick wall of pain. A shit ton of pain. Love destroys people to the point where they don’t even care who else they hurt in process.” – Caleb

“I should have known that from the moment I met you that there would be no going back. That I will never be the same. I know now that I’ll never recover from loving you, Diana Alexander.” – Caleb

About the Author:

When Kate Evangelista was told she had a knack for writing stories, she did the next best thing: entered medical school. After realizing she wasn’t going to be the next Doogie Howser, M.D., Kate wandered into the Literature department and never looked back. Today, she is a graduate of De La Salle University – Manila with a Bachelor of Arts in Literature. She taught high school English for three years and was an essay consultant for two. Currently she writes full-time and is based in the Philippines.

Twitter || Goodreads || Website

Capture

3 thoughts on “[Book Review #66] No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista

Leave a Reply

