[Book Tags #10] Nostalgic Book Review Tag: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

img_4949-1

Hi, everyone! I’m back and this time, I’m planning on staying for good. Last Friday marked the last day of my Hotel Internship at Fairmont and Raffles Hotel, Makati, and now, since I have more time in my hands, I’m proud to tell everyone that I’ll be as active as I was before, both here on my blog, and over at Instagram! (I can’t wait to get back to the bookish community!)

And today, I’ll be sharing with everyone a nostalgic book review! Long ago, I was tagged by Joey of Another Afterthought to do this tag! What I love about this is that it’s aim is to review a book you’ve read years ago and you’ll be doing it without any immediate knowledge of the book you’ll be reviewing. And, seeing that Jennifer Niven will be visiting the Philippines on tomorrow, I’ve decided to review once again one of my most favorite books of all time, All The Bright Places.

IMG_5106

The Nostalgic Book Review Tag was created by my friend, CW from Read, Think, Ponder with the aim of reviewing a book you’ve read three or more years ago, and it’s divided into 3 parts which will be this review’s format.

1. The Summary

First, tell us a little bit about this book, and approximately when you read it. Write a summary (brief, long, anything you like!) of the book you are reviewing.

All The Bright Places is about two misfits, Violet Markey and Theodore Finch, who painstakingly found love in a hopeless place (literally). They are of different characteristics and they both have different definitions of happiness and what it means to live a happy and content-filled life, in a place filled with sorrow and negativity.

As the story goes on, Finch and Violet go these “wanderings” for a project, and this is where they come to know more about one another. This is where the actual feel of the story starts to take shape, and where the romance start to kick in.

It was Jennifer’s take on trying to tell her readers how to find the light in a crestfallen situation. The story, other than making me feel depressed, happy, and contented all at the same time, also made me feel like there really is something better that awaits a person after having experienced a tragic instance.

And that’s all I can share without having to shed a tear or two. It’s been more than a year now, but feel like I never truly moved on from the feels that this book gave me. Honestly, I feel like there’s no moving on from this book.

2. The Thoughts

Share your thoughts on your chosen book. Reflect and talk about what you thought of the book back then.

I’m going to be honest. I was in a very dark and depressing phase when I read this book way back January 2015. After losing lots of things, I really felt alone in the world. I felt like there’s not much to live for until this book came along. All The Bright Places pulled me out from that phase and it made me completely re-evaluate everything.

What I loved about Jennifer Niven’s All The Bright Places was its courage to talk about societal issues that adults nowadays tend to disregard. Jennifer was brave enough to incorporate messages of hope within the chapters of her book, and it basically accompanies it’s reader on a very enlightening reading experience. Through Finch and Violet, we see just how wonderful life truly is.

3. The Epilogue

Here’s the fun part: now you can look up a summary of the book – find all those names that you couldn’t remember, those plot points that seemed pretty important – and all those things you might have forgotten. Don’t go back and edit the summary from the first part!

After 17 months post-All The Bright Places, I firmly believe that I’ve semi-moved on from this book. Again, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to get over just how heartbreaking this book is. I remember every detail so vividly, and I know that this book is a great read because after all the books I’ve read after this one, I’m still so touched by not only the characters, but the story and the message it conveyed as well.

It’s an understatement to tell everyone that I’ll be re-reading this book either some time soon, or in the future. All The Bright Places will always (ALWAYS) have a special place in my heart!

Rating? Totally 5 stars all the way!


And that’s basically it for this tag! It was an amazing experience reminiscing the feels this book gave me. And now, I am finally ready to meet Jennifer Niven tomorrow! Also, I’m tagging a few people to do this tag as well! 🙂

Have fun, you guys! Until the next one!

Capture

10 thoughts on “[Book Tags #10] Nostalgic Book Review Tag: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Leave a Reply

