[Event Recap #16] From A First Time Attendee to A Host: A #BookwormsUnitePH Recap

img_7161

One of the many reasons why I started my blog was to give myself a chance to meet fellow bookworms with whom I share the reading passion with. Ever since Book Freak Revelations was born, indeed, I have met some of the most lovely people in the world. I’ve met International Bestselling Authors whose stories have touched me in more ways even I can’t comprehend. I’ve worked with some of the most generous publishers, and International Sales agents. I’ve met local book store officers who strive hard to give Filipino readers a very lively and active community. And lastly, I’ve met some of the best book bloggers both inside and out of the Philippines. And with that said, we’re proud to have been able to host Bookworms Unite, which aims for us to introduce, meet, and bond with fellow bookworms.

img_6568

Yesterday, bookworms from all over the Philippine Metro came to meet fellow readers and bloggers alike at #BookwormsUnitePH hosted by yours truly, along with my friends Hazel from Stay Bookish, Miel from Bookish and Awesome, Inah from The Bibliophile Confessions, Dianne from Oops I Read A Book Again, Raffy from Eccentric Everything, Faye from The Social Potato. and Jasmine from Jasmine Pearl Reads (who was there in spirit). I actually wasn’t hoping to be a host this year because I was just one of those who kept on annoying last year’s organizers as to when to host this year’s event, but after a few “pressuring” tweets and messages, they decided to make me a host!

I was actually a bit shy to be a host at first because I didn’t know what I could  bring to the table that the other hosts haven’t brought yet. But my co-hosts A.K.A. my great friends, were all very supportive and enthusiastic leaving no part in me for anxiety and self-doubt. After the event, I realized just how satisfying being a host is!

So anyway, let me start my recap!


The organizers and I went to Tweedle Book Cafe at around 11:30AM to prepare for the event beforehand. For me, that meant finishing covering the books I brought for the Book Blind Date, because the #BookwormsUnitePH Twitter chat that we hosted the night before totally drained me out. *laughs* but shortly after, people started arriving, which gave me enough confidence to engage the attendees to the game I administered, A.K.A. The Words Turned Upside Down!

img_7152

Basically, my game was all about unjumbling 20 character names from different Young Adult and New Adult novels recently published by different publishers. As if it wasn’t hard enough, everyone was also timed, and the 10 people who got the highest number of correct answers would get a chance to win a book from our prize stack. Out of all the attendees who played, only a few people got 10-12 correct answers, and people kept on telling me how Feyre and Rowan’s last names weren’t mentioned enough in the books. I, on the other hand, believed that last names are SOOO underrated, and wanted to give them the acknowledgment they deserved!

img_7146

Here are some of Bookworms Unite’s fabulous attendees + hosts!

There were tons of games, you guys! I can’t even explain all of them, but just beside my station was Miel’s Word Soup From Hell, where a player was tasked to look for 3-5 bookish terms from a large pool of letters. Inah’s The Ultimate YA Trivia was one of our major games where everyone was asked to form triads and think of unique team names, and they answered some of the most “Young Adult” questions that are, of course, book-related. Hazel, Dianne, and Raffy’s Cover Guessing Game was also a fun activity where the same triads were given 15 seconds to guess the title and authors of cropped photos of book covers. Lastly, we have Miel’s Literary Human Bingo, where everyone was given equal chances of winning, finding the right people to sign a specific category on everyone’s card.

img_7149

Amazing prizes from generous sponsors: Penguin Random House, Simon & Schuster Philippines, Scholastic Philippines, and Fully Booked.

Of course, these games were made a lot more fun and worth playing because of all the prizes from our very generous sponsors, mainly: Penguin Random House, Simon & Schuster Philippines, Scholastic Philippines, and Fully Booked. Almost all of our attendees also brought books to give away for our book raffle. It was raining books, you guys! I’m not even kidding.

As for the food and beverage served by the amazing Tweedle Book Café, everything was worth every peso. After exhausting myself in shouting game mechanics, mingling with fellow bookworms, and administering open and major games, I ordered a serving of their Wagyu Kimcheese Burger. It was good! I’m not actually a big lover (or liker) of Kimchi, but it was surprisingly good. Well, for those who like Burgers + Korean food items that is.

img_7148

Wagyu Kimcheese Burger for Php300.00

Being a host meant that I wasn’t allowed to play major games and get a chance to win coveted prizes (Hello, Gemina ARC!), but that didn’t stop me from bringing home interesting titles from our Book Blind Date.

img_7147

I went to the event bringing 8 books. I brought some Young Adult and Middle Grade favorites, a signed book, a hardcover classic, and a lot more, and, in return, I came home with the following titles:

img_7142

  1. The Tornado Chasers by Ross Montgomery
  2. Captain Underpants and The Terrifying Return of Tippy Tinkle Trousers by Dav Pilkey
  3. The Secrets of Tree Taylor by Dandi Daley Mackall
  4. The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen
  5. The Radiant Road by Katherine Catmull
  6. Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs
  7. The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon
  8. The Lost Landscape: A Writer’s Coming of Age by Joyce Carol Oates

LEGIT

Here are some of the people I took photos with during the event. There were 35+ people who came, and these are just 12 out of all of the attendees. From top to bottom, left to right, that’s me with Miel, Dianne, Apollo, Eriele, Kim, Raffy, Hazel, Jem, Bianca, Salve, Raine, and Faye! (Linking some of their accounts, so better click on those links!)

img_7130

I also had the chance to (finally) meet Ms. Honey de Peralta, from Penguin Random House. I actually saw her during the #JenniferNiveninPH signing, but had to let my chance to meet her pass by due to the unbelievable amount of crying I did that day. But, as expected, she was lovely, and had a lot of things to say about how wonderful our reading community has turned out.

I had the most amazing time hosting Bookworms Unite this year, and the experience wouldn’t have been as epic if it not for my awesome co-organizers! Everyone was so supportive and enthusiastic about this event, and we can’t even begin to explain how satisfying it feels to have met and bonded with everyone!

img_7140

In behalf of all the organizers of this year’s Bookworms Unite, I would like to send my deepest thanks, again, to our sponsors: Penguin Random House, Simon & Schuster Philippines, Scholastic Philippines, and Fully Booked. Some of the prizes gravely coveted by everyone came from their generous hands. Bookworms Unite wouldn’t have been as successful if it wasn’t for their generous donations. Thank you, thank you!

And most especially to the Philippine Bookish Community, this event is for ALL OF YOU! Thank you to everyone who supported, and attended the event. Let’s not forget the active ones who joined our pre-event Twitter chat, you guys are as equally lovely! Of course, it wouldn’t be a fun meet-up if not for all of you. Always remember that we are ONE community, and our being active and supportive on social media is something that everyone in the world recognizes. Authors, agents, publicists: They all know how great our community is, so let’s keep our fire burning. Keep on shouting to the world just how much we love the printed word.

img_7156

Last ones in the venue! (Also, if you guys have Snapchat, feel free to follow me @jmcabraal)

If you have the time, I would also love it if you could check out these equally wonderful recaps of some of my friends and attendees:

  1. Inah’s Recap – The Bibliophile Confessions
  2. Jam’s Recap – Heartscent Reads
  3. Fay’s Recap – Bibliophile Soprano
  4. Kim’s Recap – Divergent Gryffindor

If you have any recaps for Bookworms Unite, feel free to link it to this one so I could add your posts on the list above!

Were YOU at Bookworms Unite? Tell me all about your experiences! If not, then what are you most looking forward to should BU3 be a thing? Tell me in the comment section below!

Thanks again, book nerds! Until the next one!

Capture

28 thoughts on “[Event Recap #16] From A First Time Attendee to A Host: A #BookwormsUnitePH Recap

    1. Hi, Bianca! It was nice meeting you last Sunday! Great job in slaying the cover guessing game with your teammates! Hope you like the books you got for prizes! Also, we’ll certainly look into organizing BU3 next year! I think it’s too early to plan, but our doors are open! See you on future events! 🙂

      Like

    1. This year’s Bookworms Unite is actually the second one, and we’re looking forward to try and hosting it again next year, but for now, I think it’s still too early to plan. We’ll be sure to inform everyone should BU3 be a thing! But thanks for dropping by, Danissa! 🙂 I hope to meet you soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. HELLO KID YOUR RECAP ALMOST MADE ME CRY! I’m sooooooo glad you found hosting the event really satisfying hahaha! It’s really hard not to feel jealous right? But at the end of the day, nothing beats the feeling of being the one bringing loads of fun to other people. I’m so proud of all of us and happy that this is a success. It’s also great to see that book communities from other countries can see how enthusiastic we all are. ❤

    See you soon, JM! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I cannot, for the life of me, even begin to explain how much I enjoyed this year’s BU, Inah! I had the most amazing time planning and brainstorming with you guys, and it’s definitely a new experience for me! One that I would be looking forward to doing again, maybe next year? 😉 Haha! But yeah, I’m a big ball of emotions, and I will surely miss the rush that this event brought us.

      See you soon! :*

      Like

    1. The weather has been our top enemy during Bookworms Unite, and we were all nervous if people will come at all. Fortunately, lots of bookworms did, and I’m disheartened that you weren’t able to come. Maybe next time? And I certainly hope to meet you soon, Mark! 🙂

      Like

  2. OMG. I love this recap!!!!!!!!!!!! Watch out for mine (ETA: Thursday or Friday NAKS MAY SCHED)
    Really glad you didn’t include “Raffy kanina ka pa talaga ah!” In here LOL!

    See you soonest 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BU3 should definitely be a thing! Thanks for being one of the organizers, JM! It was so fun seeing everyone if flesh! Haha! 🙂 I had a blast!
    xo, Kat

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This looks like it was an amazing event, and I’m sorry I couldn’t be a part of it! I’m glad it went well, and that you liked the Korean food that you had. I didn’t start liking kimchi until I was a bit older, but your burger looks great. Congrats on its success! Also, I love your blog theme!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Like

  5. The event sounds so much fun! Too bad I didn’t go (but let’s be real, I’ll probably just be in a corner watching you all play games because of how unsocial I am. LOL). I’m so glad everyone had fun and congratulations on the success of the event! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

