[Book Tags #12] The Intimidating TBR Book Tag + A Life Update

img_7628

I’ve been out for almost an entire month, and at this point, I’m giving you permission to blame my being an adult. I spent the last few weeks adjusting to my working environment and I have to admit, I completely neglected every bookish account I have during that time. Bookstagram, Twitter, and this blog. I can’t even begin to explain how much I miss reading. I also long for the talks I have with my friends about nothing other than literature.

So anyway, I’m going to try and come back for just a few days and see if I can keep up with this. Today, I’m showing everyone how inefficient I am when it comes to reading books I bought in the past through The Intimidating TBR Book Tag!

Many thanks to my friend Jesse from Books at Dawn for tagging me to do this tag! He’s one of those bloggers who never (or rarely) forgets to tag me in doing posts like these and it just makes my creative juices flowing, so I’m grateful, Jesse! Better check his blog out and show him some love! So anyway, let’s get this post started!

img_7488

What book/s have you been unable to finish?

These are some titles that I was able to start reading but had to put down for a time because of the following reasons:

  1. I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. (This goes for Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock, Ruin & Rising, and Never Fade.)
  2. I loved it but I needed to wait for the sequel. (This one goes for Six of Crows, obviously.)
  3. And I loved it, but don’t want for the entire series to end yet. (Of course, this goes for Morning Star.)

img_7489

What book/s haven’t you read yet because you just haven’t had the time?

Everyone knows how much of a book hoarder I am, so these titles aren’t even a quarter of all the books I have but haven’t read yet. I am planning on reading these, and a lot more, in the (hopefully) near future! Some of these titles, I’ve been dying to read since the release date, but you know the deal. “So many books, so little time.”

img_7490

What book/s haven’t you read yet because they are sequels?

These are titles that I’ve been stocking up on ever since they were out! Basically, I haven’t read some of these titles because I’m waiting for more books in their series. Y’all know how I hate cliffhangers so I think I have a valid reason on this one. (Although, I know the Lorien Legacies series came to a close with United As One which was released like a month ago, so…)

img_7491

What book/s haven’t you read yet because they’re brand new?

These are some titles I’ve hauled over the past few weeks and I haven’t read anything from this stack except for A Torch Against The Night! Don’t hate on me, please. I just haven’t had the time to get to reading all these wonderful titles! Also, look out for my next stacking the shelves post for more details on these pile of books and more.

img_7492

What book/s haven’t you read yet because you’ve read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

I’m not one for hating on authors or books by authors that I didn’t like, but I really didn’t like E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, Melissa Kantor’s Maybe One Day, and Michelle Hodkin’s The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. It’s definitely not the book’s fault. I just didn’t like/love it as much as some of you did, so it goes without saying that I don’t know if I’ll ever get to reading other books by them. (Sorry!)

img_7493

What book/s haven’t you read yet because you’re just not in the mood for it at this time?

To be honest, my entire shelf is made up of books that I haven’t read because I’m not in the mood for them yet. Even I don’t understand this kind of thinking. I buy the books at the time that they’re completely hyped up, check out a few chapters, put them down because I don’t like reading them WITH the hype and only pick them up after a year or so. (Crazy, right?) But don’t get me wrong, I’m planning on reading them soon. Hopefully before the year ends.

img_7554

What book/s haven’t you read yet because of sheer size?

Quick confession: I always have a hard time reading utterly thick books. It’s not that I don’t like them or anything, it’s just that I really have a short attention span and it usually takes me about a week or two before finishing ’em, and here are just some titles I’m yet to read!

img_7555

What book/s haven’t you read yet because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

I had a hard time choosing books for this one mainly because I don’t buy books that I know I won’t read but these books turned out to have mixed reviews. Some of my friends told me that they loved it, and some didn’t so I’m torn in the middle. I’m not one to disregard these kinds of books, though, so I’m hoping to read these soon as well!

img_7556

What is/are the most intimidating book/s in your TBR pile?

If there’s one book (or series) that I feel too intimidated to read at this point (and for quite some time now), it’s most definitely The Shadowhunters series by Cassandra Clare. Every time I feel like reading it, I stare at how thick all the books are together and it just strains all the life out of me. In all honesty, though, I really want to read these, even if I feel like Cassie Clare won’t go out on a limb to write different stories #Oops.


That’s it for this tag! I’m definitely tagging EVERYONE reading this post to do the tag! But for a special mention, I’m calling out some old (and new) friends to do this too!

I want to know if y’all are just as inefficient as I am when it comes to reading newly (or previously) hauled books!

Just an Afterthought

I also wanted to take the time to share with you what I’ve been through the past few weeks while I was away:

With the help of this unexpected hiatus, I’ve also learned how to keep my cool when it comes to blog stats. Ever since the year started, it’s been a constant challenge to keep Book Freak Revelations afloat, and the past few weeks gave me the luxury of taking a break from the usual. I’ve learned to say no to straining myself just to make sure that my platform still has it’s place in the book blogosphere. You know? Whatever’s meant to happen, most definitely will in God’s own time! So for now, I’m planning on at least posting new content maybe once or twice a week and will adjust on the outcome as I go along.

But still, I want to thank everyone for being so positive and supportive. For still visiting my small space to check out and read my posts even if I’ve rarely posted anything during the weeks I was away. It means the world to me to read your sweet comments, tweets, and messages, and I’m looking forward to when I’m fully adjusted to really talk with everyone about books and life in general.

I’m going on a few exciting bookish events this week, mainly the Readers and Writers Festival this weekend, and I’ve also been invited by Penguin Random House to go on a Bookish Tea Party. I will definitely write recaps for these events so you guys could feel like you were there with me!

Until the next one! 🙂

Capture

5 thoughts on “[Book Tags #12] The Intimidating TBR Book Tag + A Life Update

  1. Thank you for the tag! Don’t worry about Queen of Shadows. I’m easily intimidated by the size of books but once you get going with the events of QoS, you’ll be hooked. I promise!

    Like

  2. Thank you for the tag! (Long comment coming)
    I still have to read Ruin and Rising, but I hope I can do that soon and see what happens, it has been some time since I read the previous books. Honestly, I don’t think I will ever read Never Fade, I liked The Darkest Minds when I read it but it has been so long and I just don’t know. I hope I can read Six of Crows! I don’t think I’ll get to read it this month but I hope September is the one! I have only heard amazing things about it as well as Red Rising trilogy (which I have to read too) and I’m so excited for all of them!!
    Confession time: I have never read a Marie Lu book. I have been wanting to read them but putting them off and just reading other things. I have only heard great things about her and her books. The Young Elites seems interesting but I’m also scared to read it and the Legend trilogy would be great for my Dystopia challenge, now thinking about that maybe it’s time to read them.
    You NEED to read Queen of Shadows, I won’t say anything else.
    I have to read After You but I haven’t heard the best things about it, and I really liked Me Before You and it had an ending, sad but still. I don’t want to change that but I also want to know what happens!
    Confession time again: I don’t think I will ever read Glass Sword, it has been a long time since I read Red Queen and I enjoyed it but now… who knows
    Well, I hope you can come back relaxed and having fun, enjoying your time in the bookish community and all its platforms.
    (I told you, a long comment was coming!) 😉

    Like

  3. Aww, thank you for tagging me to this, JM! Not sure when will I be able to do this though, as I’m also on the process of adulting (aka applying for job). But this looks so fun so I’d definitely find time to make a blog post. 😀 Wish you all the best! ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

