[Wrap-up #4] September 2016 Wrap-up + Book Haul + Holding Up The Universe PH Blog Tour Wrap-up + Giveaway

img_8623

I can’t believe September has already come and gone. With all the new releases, bookish events, and life in general trying to catch up, it’s no secret that every once in a while, a bibliophile deserves to treat themselves to something worthwhile. In my case, I went all out. I spent some of my hard-earned money on books. I went to plenty of bookish events. And I’ve joined several Blog Tours during the month of September, and it’s been amazing. Here’s a quick recap of all the fabulous things I’ve posted!

Recap

  1. I went to a Book Blogger Tea Party with some of the most lovely people from Penguin Random House International! I’ve had the most wonderful time, and I posted an event recap of that which y’all can check out here.
  2. I was a part of the Global Blog Tour of Sabaa Tahir’s A Torch Against The Night, and I posted my review of this intensely action packed sequel here. Believe me. You HAVE to read it!
  3. In preparation for Morgan Matson’s Manila Signing, I read and reviewed her first YA novel, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. I loved it, not just because it was that great of a book, but also because it’s what introduced me to the lovely Morgan Matson. My review is here if you want to check it out.
  4. September is the month when the annual Manila International Book Fair is held, and I had to go! I didn’t want my chance to meet my next favorite book (with discounts) pass me by! On that same weekend, I went to Morgan Matson’s signing, and I’m so lucky to have met her and have my books signed by her. She’s lovely, and quite inspiring, if I may say so myself. My recap for these events can be found here.
  5. I was also lucky enough to have been sent an early finished copy of David Arnold’s sophomore novel, Kids of Appetite, from Penguin Random House. It’s a misfit story with quite an amazing set of characters. You might want to check out my review for that one here.

img_8567

These are the books I’ve read this month

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold – ★★★★

Saving Red by Sonya Sones – ★★★

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson – ★★★★

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson – ★★★★

Heartless by Marissa Meyer – ★★★★


September 2016 Book Haul 

For some reason, I can’t seem to control myself whenever faced with a sale, or just the simple release date of an anticipated title. I don’t know. I think I went too far this month, honestly. But yeah, anyway, here are all the books I got (bought, borrowed, gifted) this month:

img_8562

Huge thanks to my friends over at Harper Collins International for these galleys!
  1. I got Spare and Found Parts by Sarah Maria Griffin, a Fall 2016 title, from Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins for review.
  2. I snagged Be Good Be Real Be Crazy by Chelsey Philpot during my first visit at MIBF through National Book Store.
  3. I also received I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil, another Fall 2016 title, from Balzer+Bray, another imprint of HarperCollins, also for review.
  4. Lastly, I got Saving Red by Sonya Sones, the last Fall 2016 title I got from HarperCollins.

img_8538

Huge thanks to my friends over at Penguin Random House International for these wonderful titles!
  1. I received Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett in the mail from my great friend Inah of The Bibliophile Confessions in preparation for the PH blog tour she’s hosting.
  2. I requested for and was approved to get Kids of Appetite by David Arnold because I’ve been dying to read a book by David, and I’m so glad to have been able to get the chance to read it! My review is already up and linked above!
  3. Lastly, I tried my shot and requested for Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman because y’all just know how much I love Illuminae.

img_8537

These are all the hardcovers I bought and was gifted with.
  1. I bought Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo so I could finally binge the Six of Crows duology. (Finally!)
  2. Also bought The Thousandth Floor because this one’s cover’s GORGEOUS, and I’m a huge fan of stories set in New York, whether contemporary, or fantasy, so this one’s a sure buy.
  3. I got my first ever gem from Booksale all thanks to my friend Camille, who was kind enough to buy Between The Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer for me.
  4. I am beyond grateful for my UK Hardcover of Jay Kristoff’s latest, Nevernight, which came from my sweet friend, Allie of A Literary Wanderer. She insisted on sending me an advanced birthday gift, and I really can’t express my gratitude enough. Thank you, Allie. You’re a fantastic friend!
  5. During MIBF, another great friend, AKA Rafael of The Royal Polar Bear Reads, gifted me with yet another book! This time, he gave me Empire of Storms! He’s such a great friend, not because he doesn’t get tired of gifting, but because we share a lot of things in common, and I honestly can’t wait to see him again!
  6. I bought a signed copy of Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi because… Wait. Do I have to explain this one? Have you seen THE COVER? I mean… Well, yeah, also because it’s been years since I’ve read anything by Tahereh, and now that it’s out, I can’t wait to read it!

img_8568

Paperbacks!!!
  1. I bought Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour to send to a great friend because she missed Morgan Matson’s Manila signing. Also, to just to say thank you because she’s been such a great friend through all these years.
  2. I scored a copy of It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover during MIBF and I got it with a 30% discount! I mean, how cool is that? I’ve been dying to get my hands on this since it came out!
  3. I borrowed Heartless and Caraval from one of my kindest friends, Louisse, AKA the lovely woman behind @ThroneOfGlassPH on Twitter, and 1/2 of the people behind The Soul Sisters.

Holding Up The Universe PH Blog Tour Wrap-up

img_8212

The past week has been amazing, from seeing all the lovely reviews from the tour participants, to seeing photos from the lovely Jennifer Niven who’s having the time of her life celebrating the release of her new baby. But hey! Much thanks to everyone for supporting the tour, for loving the book, and for telling everyone who will listen that they are wanted. Holding Up The Universe is such an emotional book, and the story really touched and moved me in more ways than I can only imagine. So it is with great pleasure that I present you all the reviews that the participants posted.

Jasmine’s review (From Jasmine Pearl Reads)

Bianca’s review (From The Ultimate Fangirl)

Mark’s review (From Bong Bong Books)

Josiah’s review (From The Bookish Fanboy)

Eriele’s review (From This Is Not Your Book Blog)

Fay’s review (From Bibliophile Soprano)

Nicka’s review (From Read by Nicka)

Elena’s review (From The Queen Reads)

Nikka’s review (From Adventures of Nikka)


Giveaway

Penguin Random House was so, so kind to send some giveaway ARCs of Holding Up The Universe, and I’m glad to share with y’all the following links so everyone has equal chances in snagging a copy! One giveaway is posted on Instagram, which you can find here. The other is posted on Twitter, which you can find here.


How was YOUR September? Bought anything worthwhile? Read something good? Share your thoughts with me via the comment section!

As always, many thanks to everyone who supported not just the tour I hosted, but also for Book Freak Revelations in general, in less than 2 months, I’m also celebrating my second blogiversary, and I can’t wait to share with you guys everything that I have planned! Until then.

Capture

Leave a Reply

