[Book Review #78] ARC: Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett + Giveaway

img_8618-1

Addison Sullivan has been in an accident. In its aftermath, she has memory lapses and starts talking to a boy that no one else can see. It gets so bad that she’s worried she’s going crazy.

Addie takes drastic measures to fill in the blanks and visits a shadowy medical facility that promises to “help with your memory.” But at the clinic, Addie unwittingly discovers it is not her first visit. And when she presses, she finds out that she had certain memories erased. She had a boy erased.

But why? Who was that boy, and what happened that was too devastating to live with? And even if she gets the answers she’s looking for, will she ever be able to feel like a whole person again?

Book Specifications:

Author: Sarah Everett

Format: ARC

Part of a Series: No. Standalone.

Release Date: October 4, 2016

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

No. of Pages: 400 pages

Price: $17.99

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Teen, Family, Mental Illness, Mystery

Book Review:

img_8616

I received a print ARC of this book from Penguin Random House through my good friend Inah from The Bibliophile Confessions which in no way swayed my opinion about the story.

Ever since I’ve heard of it and read the synopsis, I’ve grown quite intrigued with Sarah Everett’s Everyone We’ve Been. I saw some friends get galleys in the mail way back, and I was actually planning on requesting for it myself when I saw that my good friend Inah was planning on hosting a PH blog tour for it. Of course, I had to jump right in, knowing just how much I’ll enjoy the book.

I started reading this while I was in an unfavorable reading slump, seeing that I was just starting to move on from Marissa Meyer’s upcoming book, Heartless (Out 11/08!), so it’s needless to say that I went on with this having expectations that were quite high. Even I was afraid to have myself read and not push through with it because of my slump, but I’m more than proud to share with everyone that Everyone We’ve Been did not disappoint.

What intrigued me most about the story was that it shared a major similarity with one of my most favorite YA books, More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. If you haven’t check it out yet, it has this revolutionary memory-relief procedure, where a person can have a memory erased from his/her brain. In Everyone We’ve Been, we see how our main character, Addie, struggles in trying to move on after quite a few unfortunate happenstances, and actually chooses to forget her past, a few fragments of it, that is, through the help of memory splicing, a technique that could wipe clean the worst of her memories. This, then, leads to more conflicts as the story goes on.

What I loved about it is that it focused on the struggle that a depressed person goes through every single day. We see a problem that is ultimately realistic, and so believable that it’s painful yet so enlightening to see and read on print. We see how a single person is torn into shreds by real life problems, and we also see a glimpse of how a common person fights back depression. Some wins easily, some loses desperately, and some puts up a pretty damn good fight. The way the story was told was honest, and I appreciate how Sarah did her part to share with her readers how important it is to understand, live with, and fight depression. Again, you don’t have to be depressed to fight it. You just need to be willing to help those who do.

I also loved how the story focused on the value of having the greatest of friendships, especially during trying times. Addie and Katy’s is honestly one of the main reasons why I loved this book. Katy has been there for Addie during her ups and downs, and it’s amazing how she never left her. Sure, they had their differences, but in the end, everything was still satisfying, seeing how close they even became right after all the conflict. It’s true how sometimes MILLIONS of people in this world will let you down, but with the help of a great friend, life becomes instantly more worth living.

“Everyone We’ve Been is an amazing debut novel from Sarah Everett and it’ll pull you towards a reading experience that is as HONEST as it is HEARTBREAKING. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not.”

RATING:

Characters – 3.75

Plot – 4.00

Writing Style – 3.75

Pacing – 3.50

Ending – 4.50

TOTAL – 3.9 / 4 Stars

img_8640

Many thanks to my friend, Inah, and to Penguin Random House for making this lovely blog tour possible!

Also, don’t forget to keep your eyes peeled for the reviews of the other amazing participants for this tour. I’m linking all their reviews below.

Giveaway:

Penguin Random House, as always, was so, so kind to send us an extra ARC to giveaway to a lucky reader! Check out the Rafflecopter giveaway HERE.

About the Author:

Sarah Everett is the author of EVERYONE WE’VE BEEN (out Oct 4, 2016) and a second untitled novel that she is still hard at work on (both from Knopf/Penguin Random House). She remembers growing up in enchanted forests, on desert islands and inside a magical wardrobe. She would only ever erase her memory of past karaoke performances and certain fashion choices. Her interests include science, Friends, tennis, and reading. She currently lives in Canada where she attends graduate school and writes YA novels.

Twitter || Goodreads || Website

Capture

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “[Book Review #78] ARC: Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s