[Book Review #79] ARC: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

img_7346

The first in a new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author.

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

Book Specifications:

Author: Jay Kristoff

Format: ARC

Part of a Series: Yes. The Nevernight Chronicles #1.

Release Date: August 11, 2016

Publisher: Harper Voyager UK

No. of Pages: 643 pages

Price: $17.99

Genre: Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Murder, Action

Book Review:

img_7334

I received an ARC of this book from Harper Voyager UK through the blog tour organized by my friend Kate from The Bookaholic Blurbs which in no way swayed my opinion about the story.

When the ARC arrived at our doorstep, my instant reaction was: “Oh, dear God!” The ARC looked magnificent (Hats off to fellow Filipino, Kerby Rosanes, for designing such an awesome cover!)! Also, it’s a literal beast! With 643 pages, that’s supposed to be read in less than a week, with the weekdays for work just around the corner, I didn’t even know if I could finish reading it. But I knew that I had to persevere because it’s a Jay Kristoff book! Remember when I fell in love with his other book Illuminae? (Yeah, he co-wrote that with Amie Kaufman, but you get my point, right?) After I read the last page of that book, I became an instant fan! I definitely wasn’t going to let my chance of reading and reviewing this book pass me by!

The story started out quite slow with me trying to fumble in the dark to grasp the story line, the world, as well as our main character, Mia Covere. It usually takes me more than 50 pages to get on track with a new book (or a new series), but it certainly had it’s own way of impressing me. With just a few pages read, I instantly fell in love with how badass the MC is! Instantly, you would know that she would turn out to be one of the most vindictive characters you will ever read about. She reminds me so much of Arya Stark from the Game of Thrones series, with just how much she’s driven to avenge the death of her loved ones, and their being treated unfairly. Her determination in seeing her plan through is one of the many things that hooked me up. She’s resentful, resourceful, and a whole lot of awesome, making her my favorite character in the book’s entirety.

Jay Kristoff’s writing style never fails to impress me, most especially with Nevernight. Well, other than Illuminae, this happens to be my first Jay book, but I’ve read enough reviews to know that his writing is really poetic, and a bit overemotional. To some, they found this completely unnecessary and felt like the writing was too melodramatic and overdone, but it seemed okay to me. I loved how he kept on using similes and metaphors that kept me thinking just how figurative his writing truly is. It also made the story a lot more graphic, tense, and vulgar, making my reading experience quite thrilling.

I also feel like Jay Kristoff stayed true to telling the story of an Assassin’s life where people either kill, or are killed, and everything’s just so fucked up. Merciless murders, hot sex, and every little (nasty)  thing in between. No sugarcoating, or false portrayal. Just the bitter truth. I applaud Jay for choosing to write about this kind of story line mainly because I think it’s interesting, and not a lot of authors choose to face the challenge/s of doing so. Not only did he write honestly, but he also NAILED IT GOOD, in my opinion.

I also loved the addition of the footnotes and I think it was cool and quite helpful. Some of the scenes included these tiny peeks into short background or origin stories which, in my opinion, might have prolonged the book, but I enjoyed reading them nonetheless. It also gives readers a more in-depth look as to what was truly happening, and it aided in the world-building aspect of the story. Sometimes, the footnotes included snarky side comments from the narrator, which I thought was pretty amusing.

There were times, though, that I had a bit of trouble comprehending what was happening, mainly because there were lots of stuff going on, and there were lots of characters to keep track of, especially in the Red Church. I feel like Jay really had fun brainstorming and writing these scenes, and it feels like he got too excited ending up with a whole bunch of action, murder, and it felt quite overwhelming to me. It’s nothing major, I guess, you just really need to have the urge and drive to understand the story to fully grasp everything so that you don’t end up confused. I think that’s the only thing quite negative that I have to say about this book.

“All in all, Nevernight is a fantastic way to introduce a new fantasy series to everyone. Saying it’s action-packed and straightforward is an understatement, and it obviously lives up to it’s hype. Definitely a must-read for (adult) lovers of the fantasy genre. This might just be one of the best Fantasy books of 2016!”

RATING:

Characters – 4.00

Plot – 4.25

Writing Style – 4.00

Pacing – 3.75

Ending – 4.50

TOTAL – 4.1 / 4 Stars

Quotable Quotes:

“The last thing you will ever be in this world, girl, is someone’s hero. But you will be a girl heroes fear.”

“The dark around them was not only angry. It was hungry.”

“Your brain and ovaries seem to have switched places.”

“Hmm. I appear to have misplaced the fuck I was about to give for what you think.”

About The Author:

Jay Kristoff is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of THE LOTUS WAR, THE ILLUMINAE FILES and THE NEVERNIGHT CHRONICLES. He is the winner of two Aurealis Awards, an ABIA, nominee for the David Gemmell Morningstar and Legend awards, named multiple times in the Kirkus and Amazon Best Teen Books list and published in over twenty-five countries, most of which he has never visited. He is as surprised about all of this as you are. He is 6’7 and has approximately 13030 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

He does not believe in happy endings.

Twitter || Goodreads || Website

Capture

6 thoughts on “[Book Review #79] ARC: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

