[Book Review #80] ARC: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon (Blog Tour Launch + International Giveaway)

tsiaasbanner

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Book Specifications:

Author: Nicola Yoon

Format: ARC

Part of a Series: No. Standalone.

Release Date: November, 1, 2016

Publisher: Delacorte Press

No. of Pages: 344 pages

Price: $19.95

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Serendipity, Realistic Fiction

Book Review:

img_8893

I received an ARC of this book from Penguin Random House which in no way swayed my opinion about the story.

Nicola Yoon’s debut novel, Everything, Everything, happens to be one of my most favorite books ever. It’s short, sweet, with a simple story line, and characters who are extremely lovable and absolutely easy to root for. I wasn’t even halfway through the book that I realized that she has an impeccable talent in telling a story. I’m more than grateful to Penguin Random House for allowing me to read, review, and host a PH Blog Tour for Nicola’s sophomore novel, The Sun Is Also A Star.

I am in love with the notion that “everything happens for a reason”, and I fell in love with the premise of this book. I loved how all throughout the book, both Natasha and Daniel, our main characters, were both thinking to themselves that what’s meant to happen WILL happen. That alone reeled me in. I adore the idea of a story proving the inevitability of sweet serendipity, and to be honest, it’s Nicola Yoon! I just know that it’ll be a great and heartwarming book.

Another thing that I must confess is that I didn’t know that I would love this book as much as I loved Everything, Everything, mainly because there weren’t cute doodles to help in telling the story. But, I am proud to say that Nicola’s writing has not changed. Improved, yes, but she’s still able to lure readers in, me in particular, without even having to put too much effort. She did a wonderful job making me believe that everything truly happens for a reason. I read this book because I wanted to prove the genuinity of serendipity, and it took me about 30 pages (or probably less) to be delighted. It’s just that great a book.

I also loved how all the characters, even the ones who had small parts to play in Natasha and Daniel’s story, had their own short stories that contributed to the development of the entire book. From a mere security guard, to a reckless car driver, to an executive secretary, everyone had their own back stories telling readers as to why they’re doing something or why they were at an exact place at an exact time. Everything was so well connected, further supporting the premise and claim of the book. Through this, we get to see the whole story in EVERYONE’s perspective, and thus, giving us a lot more depth.

Also, just to add, I wanted to share how much I love books with admirable endings. In this book’s case, I think it’s needless to say how much I ADORED the ending. It supported the notion that what’s destined to happen WILL happen in God’s own time. This book’s epilogue is hands down my most favorite part of the entire book. Ah, there are no words to express how much I love it.

“The Sun Is Also A Star is the kind of book that’ll make you feel good about yourself. It’ll give you all the positive vibes you’ll need to get through a day (or probably a week). Just like Everything, Everything, it’s a fast-paced read that is sweet, romantic, and absolutely swoon-worthy in every way. You need to read this book. Now, probably.”

RATING:

Characters – 5.00

Plot – 5.00

Writing Style – 5.00

Pacing – 5.00

Ending – 5.00

TOTAL – 5 Stars

This book deserves all the suns and stars in the world, to be honest…

Quotable Quotes:

“No one can put a price on losing everything.”

“We’re kindling amid lightning strikes, a lit match and dry wood, fire danger signs and a forest waiting to be burned.”

“I didn’t know you this morning, and now I don’t remember not knowing you.”

“I remind myself that stars are more than just poetic. If you need to, you can navigate your way by them.”

“Time and distance are love’s natural enemies.”

“Dark matter is love. It’s the attracting force.”

International Giveaway:

Up for grabs are 2 packaged ARCs of The Sun Is Also A Star and a gorgeous print art of the amazing cover, all thanks to my extremely kind friends at Penguin Random House! Don’t let your chance to read a life-changing book pass you by! Check this giveaway out HERE!

Many thanks to Penguin Random House, as always, for making this all possible. This blog tour I’m hosting is NOTHING without you. And to Nicola Yoon, for introducing me and the whole world to Natasha and Daniel! They’ll definitely stay with me forever!

Also, don’t forget to keep your eyes peeled for the reviews of the amazing participants for this tour. I’m linking all their reviews below.

About the Author:

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.

Website || Twitter || Goodreads

Capture

46 thoughts on “[Book Review #80] ARC: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon (Blog Tour Launch + International Giveaway)

  1. I haven’t read any books from Nicola Yoon but I wanted to try her book “The Sun Is Also A Star” after reading you review. But I know that it will be like a domino effect to me, I guess after reading the book… it will wanna make me read all of her works. Thank you for the opportunity and may your blog have more followers and readers to come! Your blog inspired me to continue my book blog site! God bless to you and Happy Birthday.

    Like

  2. This book sounds amazing, I’m sure that it deserves all the hype that it’s getting. I’ve read Everything, Everything and completely fallen in love with Nicola Yoon’s writing style. I would definitely be picking this book up the soonest! Great review. 😊💕

    Like

  3. No, I haven’t read any of Nicola Yoon’s novels. But I would like to tead Everything, Everything first because I heard it has also good reviews. Thank you for the chance! More power to you blog! 😁

    Like

  4. I haven’t read any of her books, but from the looks of it, it seems quite interesting to read. I love to read, but I dont have any book collection. Any book will do for me, cause my passion is really to read on and on.

    Like

  5. I never had the chance to read any of Nicola Yoon’s wonderful works, its sad actually. If ever I’ll have the chance to read, I would love to read all because I read the synopsis and it really did catch my attention, and the way you express your thoughts about the book makes me want to read it. I want my cravings for Nicola’s works be satisfied. Sml ❤

    Like

  6. Hello! To be honest, I haven’t read any of the books Nicola Yoon made/created. But because of your review and everyone that had already read this book made me really really curious about how beautiful this book is! Also, I want to feel a different vibe that this book might actually give me that’s why I really wanted to win! Thank you so much! (I’m also planning to read Everything, Everything because I’ve heard it’ll be a movie soon!) Happy birthday & more power, JM! ❤

    Like

  7. Hi!! Well actually I haven’t read any of her books. So If ever I won “the sun is also a star” I will apreciate it so much. So please pick me I heard the book was so awesome and well written😘.

    Like

  8. I have read Everything, Everything from a blog tour I participated in! It was so good. I loved her writing and the storyline and characters were just so adorable. Waiting for the chance to read this one since I’ve been hearing positive reviews about it everywhere 🙂

    Like

  9. I have yet to read a Nicola Yoon book and would love to get the chance to read this beauty! 😍 I’ve heard so many great things and this review makes me long for it even more! It sounds like such a cute read that I know I would adore.
    Thanks so much for the chance!!

    Like

  10. I havent read the book yet so I’m looking forward to it. I would love to read Landline by Rainbow Rowell because I just adore her works and her other books. I love how she plots her story that’s relatable to all.

    Like

  11. I haven’t read any of her book 😭 but I so want to for I’ve heard so much about her. I like this review it made me more curious and want to read The Sun is also a Star too 😍. Love the book cover too! So gorgeous!

    Like

  12. I haven’t read any of Nicola Yoon’s books. Usually, I depend my buying instincts on the book cover, synopsis and book reviews of other readers. I find your reviews very helpful! Given a chance, this would be an awesomeeeee birthday gift!!!

    Like

  13. Haven’t read any of her books yet. I’m hoping this book would be my first read from her works. Because from the reviews I’ve read so far, it’s a good book. So I’m hoping I could read this book sooner! First impression lasts, right? 🙂

    Like

  14. I have read Everything, Everything, it is extraordinary and this is the reason why I am jumping with excitement and joy about her new book! I believe it will be amazing and so much fun to read!!

    Like

  15. I have never read any of Nicola Yoon’s books, but this review made me realize how much I’ve been missing out on. I love the idea of destiny and fate, which makes me want to read The Sun Is Also A Star.

    Like

  16. I haven’t read any of Nicola Yoon’s books, but I saw on the internet only good reviews of her books and many people recommended them to me. Looking at the cover of this book and reading reviews make me thinking that this books has something magical that makes people feel so many emotions. And I really want to feel them too.

    Like

  17. Unfortunately, I haven’t read any of Nicola Yoon’s books yet. But I really want to because every review of ‘Everything everything’ or ‘The Sun is also a star’ say that her books are really amazing. I wish I could read ‘The Sun is also a star’ cause just looking at the cover gives me this happy vibes and every review makes me thinking that there’s somethig magical about this book that makes people feel so many emotions and fall in love with it. And I want to feel it too 🙂

    Like

  18. I honestly haven’t read any of Nicola Yoon’s books. But I really want to venture out to other authors. I’ve been trying out different authors, trying to see which writing style I love and which genres I love more. 😍 And through reading your review, it made me want to read her book. Her books might be my cup of tea. 👍 Thank you for the chance and continue to bring awesome book reviews! 😍

    Like

  19. Haven’t read anything from Nicola Yoon yet BUT Everything, Everything looks so fab! Been wanting to read it for a while now because some friends have been raving about it. Hopefully, I would be able to check it out soon (along with The Sun is Also a Star haha!)

    Great review, JM!

    -Ailla ❤

    Like

  20. I havent read the book yet but I’m excited to read it if I get thr chance to have one. Especially now that I’ve read your review. Makes my reading mind feel safe cause I know it’ll be a great book.

    Like

  21. I read The Sun is Also a Star not too long ago. It was the first book by this author that I read, but it won’t be the last. This book is absolutely beautiful and I CANNOT wait to read more of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

