Book Freak Revelations’ End of 2016 Survey

img_0248

Can anyone honestly believe we’re actually down to the last day of the year? Because I can’t. I mean, 2016 has honestly given quite a few punches here and there, but I can’t blatantly say that it was horrible. I’ve achieved quite a few of my resolutions, met lots of wonderful people, worked with a few publishers, read some amazing and life-changing books… I think it’s unfair to say that I didn’t enjoy 2016.

I believe it’s just fitting to end the year with a post to recap how my year has been in terms of reading. Don’t you think? I failed to do this last year, so I’ll make it my last goal of the year to get this post out before the clock strikes 12. Let’s get this started!

Best In Books

img_8893

  1. Best book you’ve read in 2016
    – The answer to this would have to be The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon. Hands down, an easy 5★ read!
    _
  2. Book you were excited about & thought you were going to love more but didn’t
    – My answer for this one is Future Perfect by Jen Larsen. I DNFed it way back January 2016 because of the pacing, and how the writing was just a bit confusing for me.
    _
  3. Most surprising (in a good or bad way) book you’ve read
    – Definitely The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. At some point, while I was reading the book, I thought it was going to be a contemporary that will lean towards the mystery genre without too much feels. Oh, boy. I was so wrong.
    _
  4. Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?
    – I’ve pushed lots of people to read both Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also A Star this year, and I’m a bit overwhelmed at how much love the books, as well as Nicola Yoon herself, has been getting from the Filipino bookish community. Here’s to hoping she can come and visit us next year!
    _
  5. Best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series ender of 2016?
    – Best series started? Probably a tie between Nevernight by Jay Kristoff and An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. Best sequel? Definitely A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas! Best series ender? Hands down Winter by Marissa Meyer!
    _
  6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?
    – I have multiple answers for this one because I basically choose not to. I have to go with Stephanie Garber, Jeff Zentner, Julie Buxbaum, and Adam Silvera!
    _
  7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
    – I don’t usually read Thrillers so I can consider Slasher Girls and Monster Boys the best book I’ve read under a genre I don’t usually go with.
    _
  8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
    – Definitely A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir. It made the stakes in the story higher, taking the action and thrill of the story to new heights.
    _
  9. Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?
    – I’m trying my very best not to repeat my answers, but I can’t help it. I’m planning on re-reading The Sun Is Also A Star this January.
    _
  10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?
    – It’s not a book that’s released this 2016, but the cover of Stephanie Garber’s debut novel, Caraval, just need to be appreciated. Anyone with me?
    img_6357
  11. Most memorable character of 2016?
    – I still haven’t moved on from Libby Stout and her moving “You Are Wanted” narrative, so I guess I have to go with her. She’s a character from Jennifer Niven’s Holding Up The Universe, if you haven’t heard of her yet.
    _
  12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?
    – SERIOUSLY. I can’t not answer The Sun Is Also A Star. HAVE MERCY!
    _
  13. Most thought-provoking/ life-changing book of 2016?
    – Ooh. This has to be Straight by Seth King. Dude, seriously. You have to read it to find out for yourself.
    _
  14. Book you can’t believe you waited until 2016 to finally read?
    Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour is easily one of my favorites this year, and I honestly hate myself for having waited for so long before actually getting to read it.
    _
  15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2016?
    – “YOU ARE WANTED. Big, small, tall, short, pretty, plain, friendly, shy. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise, not even yourself.” – Libby Stout, Holding Up The Universe. (Thank you for reminding me of my unresolved feels.)
    _
  16. Shortest & longest book you read in 2016?
    – Shortest? The Epilogue to The One by Kiera Cass (6 pages) Longest? Winter by Marissa Meyer.
    img_8446
  17. Book that shocked you the most?
    – I’m just a tad bit shocked at how many mixed reviews there are of Marissa Meyer’s Heartless. I mean, to be honest, I didn’t expect for everyone to have such contradicting thoughts. I loved it, though!
    _
  18. OTP of The Year (You will go down with this ship!)
    – DUDE. Daniel Bae and Natasha Kingsley from The Sun Is Also A Star hands down win this category. GO AHEAD, FIGHT ME!
    _
  19. Favorite non-romantic relationship of the year
    Alice and Oliver‘s friendship from Tahereh Mafi’s MG novel, Furthermore, has to take this one home. They have such an unlikely friendship. They started out as characters who didn’t want anything to do with the other, but they ended up being such great friends.
    _
  20. Favorite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously
    – I’ve read Colleen Hoover’s previous books, and it comes as no surprise that I also loved her newest book, It Ends With Us. Tackling a more personal and sensitive theme, the aforementioned book may not be for EVERYONE to read, but it is realistic and to me, it kinda feels necessary.
    _
  21. Best book you read in 2016 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure
    – I’m going with The Spy by Paulo Coelho on this one. My friend Rafael of The Royal Polar Bear Reads rec’d it to me back when it was released, and I have to say, I am deeply impressed!
    _
  22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?
    – Don’t. You. Dare. Make. Me. Choose. UGH! But… First fictional crush that comes to mind is Rhysand, my darling! I know, I know. Don’t worry, I’ll share.
    _
  23. Best 2016 debut you read?
    – One of the best debuts I’ve read this year is The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. (I gave it 4.5 ★) It’s basically about two rivals at the office who, somehow, finds out that perhaps hate is a very strong word to feel towards one another. And it honestly shares a similar plot with The Proposal starring Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds. It’s one of my favorite rom-coms ever, so this book was just amazing, in my opinion.
    _
  24. Best world building/most vivid setting you read this year?
    – I loved the world building aspect of both The Night Court in A Court of Mist and Fury, and Luna in The Lunar Chronicles series. I refuse to choose. Fight me.
    _
  25. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most fun to read?
    Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall and No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista were such feel good books. Both titles fall under the YA Contemporary Romance, and LGBTQIA genre, and Y’ALL KNOW HOW MUCH I LOVE THE BEST FRIEND TURNED LOVERS TROPE!!!! I cannot deal!
    _
  26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2016?
    – There’s too many! More Happy Than  Not, Holding Up The Universe, Tell Me Three Things, The Serpent King, etc…
    img_4702
  27. Hidden gem of the year?
    – Going with Unscripted Joss Byrd by Lygia Day Peñaflor. I joined the local blog tour for that title, and it was amazing!
    _
  28. Book that crushed your soul?
    – This time around, I’m going with Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things. It’s about overcoming grief after having lost a mother, and that theme personally, just crushes my soul, over and over again. (But the ending’s very good, tbh.)
    _
  29. Most unique book you read in 2016?
    – Is there a book that’s more unique than Gemina? I don’t think there is! FIGHT ME.
    _
  30. Book that made you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Re: Blogging / Bookish Life

  1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?
    – The blogs that come to mind are Joey’s Thoughts and Afterthoughts, Aentee’s Read At Midnight, and Jeann, Jenna, and Aila’s Happy Indulgence.
    _
  2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?
    – My favorite would have to be my review of Heartless by Marissa Meyer. Albeit only giving it 4 ★, much thought have gone into that review, and I can’t help but feel giddy about it being in the open.
    _
  3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
    – Back in the fall, I joined #TheThanksUGive hosted by Mish of Chasing Faerytales, and Hazel of Stay Bookish. I had so much fun recalling all the experiences that I’m most thankful for, and up until this point, I hope you all know how thankful I am for YOU.
    _
    img_7140IMG_5887-horzimg_7805
  4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
    – Oh man. There were tons of amazing events this year. First on the list would have to be that time I co-hosted #BookwormsUnitePH. I had the most amazing time talking (and playing) about books with other bookish Filipinos. Next up is that time I spent an afternoon with Penguin Random House and other PH book bloggers and we, once again, talked about books and authors, this time over tea! It was definitely a fancy experience. And lastly, I had the loveliest time meeting one of my all-time favorite authors, Jennifer Niven, for her Manila signing. Dude. No words can express how much I adored that signing event. NO WORDS.
    _
  5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?
    – Other than attending the events listed above, the best part of my bookish / blogging life this year has to be finally being able to work with publishers! I’ve been in contact with Penguin Random House and HarperCollins for almost a year now, and it’s an amazing experience working with professional people to promote books.
    _
  6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?
    – I’ve had plenty of challenges when it came to reading this year. There was that time I landed a training job at Fairmont & Raffles Hotel (which basically was a 3-hour commute from where I live) It slowed down my reading to a point where my Goodreads challenge stooped down to a “12 books behind” mark. There was also the time when I can’t seem to get over a book hangover from reading A Court of Mist and Fury and Nevernight consecutively. Oh, god…
    _
  7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
    – My recap of #JenniferNiveninPH and #BookwormsUnitePH got a lot of site views, but in terms of comments, my review for The Sun Is Also A Star takes this one home. (Basically because of a giveaway I hosted. *laughs*
    _
  8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
    – If there’s a review of mine that I feel like is a bit underrated, I think it’s for Kids of Appetite by David Arnold. I loved drafting that one, but people didn’t seem to check it out as much as they did my other posts.
    _
  9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
    – Not sure about this one, but I do like the newly opened Fully Booked branch at Gateway. I’m lame, I know.
    _
  10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
    – I DID! Just the other day, I finished my Goodreads Reading Challenge of 60 books! Albeit some of the books I read were novellas, it still comes as a delight to me to achieve a challenge!

Moving Forward…

  1. One book you didn’t get to read this 2016 but will be your #1 priority next year?
    – Don’t judge me, okay, but I’m yet to read both Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms. HA! I’m such a slow reader.
    _
  2. Book you’re  most anticipating this 2017 (non-debut)?
    – I’m actually elated to get my chance to read We Are Okay by Nina LaCour! It seems like a book that’s right up my alley, tbh.
    _
  3. 2017 Debut you’re most anticipating?
    – I’m actually excited for Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman! I won a copy from her Twitter giveaway last November and I just got it a few weeks ago! Will definitely get to reading it next month!
    _
  4. Series ending / A sequel you’re most anticipating this 2017?
    – I’m soooo excited for A Court of Wings And Ruin, it practically hurts not being to read it now. Come on. Agree with me!
    _
  5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do with your reading / blogging life this 2017
    – I’m not aiming that much, but next year, I vow to read more from Filipino authors, and I’m actually well on my way to achieving that! I’ve been eyeing quite a few #romanceclass titles, and I’m looking forward to reading more from them!
    _
  6. A 2017 release you’ve already read and would recommend to everyone?
    – Both Caraval by Stephanie Garber and History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera takes this one home. I’ve read both titles, and it maybe from 2 different genres, but what they do have in common is that they’re both fabulously written, with plot lines that can entertain and move a reader.

And that’s it for this post! *phew*

I had an amazing time reminiscing my bookish life this 2016, and I can’t believe the new year’s just a few hours away! I know I’ve said this millions of times already, but still, I want to thank YOU all for being with me throughout the year. Whether you be an old or new follower of the blog, it still means the world to me to know that you follow my bookish adventures. Thank you!

What’s YOUR most favorite book of 2016? Any titles worth mentioning? Talk to me!

Until the next one!Capture

Follow me around the internet!
Facebook Twitter | Instagram Goodreads

19 thoughts on “Book Freak Revelations’ End of 2016 Survey

  1. WOW. It must’ve been quite a year for you, JM! How I wish I can say the same haha. Anyway! I highly recommend The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle – it’s my favourite YA read for this year and I read it waaaay back in January but I still get feels whenever I go back to that book.

    And I’m hoping to be more active in reading and blogging this year aha. Happy new year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually saw you mention The Great American Whatever over at you favorite reads of 2016 post, so I’m definitely gonna check that one out on Goodreads, and will let you know if I ever get to read it! And yes, I hope to see more of you and your blog this year! Cheers, Miguel! 🙂

      Like

  2. I LOVE your pictures in this post 😀
    I am starting The Sun is Also a Star tomorrow to kick off 2017! Nicola Yoon is such a great writer (I also loved Everything Everything) seriously, she can write XD! Slasher Girls and Monster Boys freaked me out wayyyyy to much, I read the first two stories then returned it to the library… I don’t read thrillers often either. I hope your 2017 is fantastic! Happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you’ll trust me when I say that you will not be disappointed with The Sun Is Also A Star. It’s such an amazing book, and I’m so glad to have been given the chance to read, review, and host a local blog tour for that title. As for Slasher Girls and Monster Boys, yeah, as I’ve mentioned, I don’t read Thrillers often so I basically had to drag myself to finish it before the year ended.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  3. Happy New Year. I read only 5 books this year . I know such a sad number. I my favorite books was the wonders of the invisible world by Christopher Barzak. A wonderful magical realism book with a gay MC in a rural setting with polish folklore.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved An Ember in the Ashes! I’ve heard tons of good things about The Sun is Also a Star which makes me want to read it so badly! Happy new year!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was such an intense read, no? Although I did like TORCH better. I just felt like the stakes got higher as the story progressed. Definitely looking forward to reading the 3rd book! And yes, Shannon! I hope you get to read The Sun Is Also A Star soon! It’s an amazing book! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was intense but in a good way! I’m sorry if that makes no sense😐 I haven’t had the chance to read TORCH yet but I hope to get it one day😊

        Like

    1. I’m guessing you just didn’t want to end the series yet. I also felt like that when I first held the book in my hands, but I had to give in! Cress’ ending was such a cliff hanger for me, I basically started Winter when I finished it. And yes, definitely read it this year, and maybe save Stars Above for when you miss the series? 😉

      Like

    1. Maybe share with me your best read of the year, instead? I felt like Winter had all the aspects a great series-ender have. I was also so satisfied with that book, I basically had to recommend the series to everyone who’s willing to listen! Thanks for stopping by, Angel! 🙂

      Like

  5. Winter is definitely a GREAT series ender for The Lunar Chronicles. You had an awesome 2016 and I’m wishing you a great 2017 ahead! I heard many good reviews for The Sun is Also A Star yet I’m too coward to put it in my TBR pile, I don’t know why!!! Will definitely consider it for the time being while I’m being coward

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Meia, I seriously hope that you get to read it some time soon. It’s such an amazing book with diverse characters with a story that may be far from being realistic, but it just can’t overshadow the fabulous writing. And yes, have a wonderful year ahead! 🙂

      Like

  6. I was thrown off a bit with that Daniel Bae name (I can at least best guess it is Korean) but I was like “BAE” bae. I guess that just shows how much I pay attention to remembering book blurbs for titles I’m supposed to read haha.

    I cannot believe I didn’t think of The Proposal as a comparison title for The Hating Game! Such a lax movie, that one.

    AND I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT MENTION, JM. You are too wonderful. Much to kind and great for my coal of a heart.

    Cheers to more wonderful bookish memories, JM, in both physical and digital capacities!

    Like

Leave a Reply

