Book Freak Revelations’ Top Ten Books of 2016

img_0692

Yes, I know 2016 is over.And it’s been 2 weeks since 2017 started, but believe me when I tell you that I won’t be moving on from these books anytime soon. Today, I’m more than elated to be sharing with everyone 10 of the best books I’ve read last year. If you’re a friend, you probably already know what tops this list, but I still need to dedicate an entire blog post about it. Okay?

I’m not even gonna lie: I’ve had quite a few challenges with reading the books I wanted to read last year, but I did emerge victorious from my Goodreads Reading Challenge. I’ve read 60 books, and I believe that’s already an achievement. So anyway, let’s get on with this list!

img_9692

#10. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

This debut from Julie Buxbaum actually focuses on the importance and how hard it is to cope up with grief after having lost a mother. Personally, the theme in itself is already a heartbreaker for me, and Julie pulled it off. This book tugged on almost all of my heartstrings, and it also blended the aspect of romance well. It’s definitely worth reading. I have a pending detailed book review for this, so stay tuned! I gave it 4 out of 5 ★!

img_6596

#9. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

This debut was actually a book that I buddy read with lots of my bookish friends, and we all ended up loving Jeff’s work (except for one who hasn’t finished it yet…) Not one of us guessed at how heart wrenching this book was going to be, and that surprising aspect was what made this book an automatic favorite. I adore books that are in no way predictable, and honestly? I feel like this is such an underrated book. Please check it out!

img_9474

#8. Straight by Seth King

I mean, what’s not to like about this NA work of art? It’s a diverse read, it’s extremely timely, (especially for those who live in The United States because of recent electoral events), brutally honest, and I honestly feel like it’s necessary for people in general to know how it is to be bashed, and hurt, physically, emotionally, and psychologically, because of one’s sexuality. DUDE. Seriously. Just read it.

img_8446

#7. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I’ve been a fan of Marissa Meyer since I’ve started (and finished) The Lunar Chronicles, and I’m so refreshed and delighted to read a book that she’s written that’s outside of Luna or New Beijing. Albeit Heartless getting mixed reviews, I’m actually part of those who loved it. I felt like this book gave the Alice in Wonderland story a little more depth into the character of The Queen of Hearts, and I commend her for her impressive bestseller.

img_5967

#6. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

If you haven’t noticed yet, I’m trash for heartbreaking contemporaries, whether it be told in an LGBTQ perspective, or not, and this debut novel by Adam Silvera tugs on my heartstrings way to much. I will never forget my reading experience of MHTN, basically because I was riding the bus when shit got real in this massive book. I sobbed for hours, and it’s not that I enjoy making a mess of myself in public, but the emotional attachment I have towards the MC, is just way too real for this book not to be listed as one of my favorites.

img_7310

#5. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Y’all know how slow I read, right? So, I guess it’s safe to say that whenever I read books with more than 600 pages in less than 3 days, said book is an instant favorite. ACOMAF is 626 pages long. I read it in 2 and a half days. That’s saying something. Obviously, I can’t get too much into detail as to what it’s about, but it basically picks up where A Court of Thorns and Roses ended, so… JUST READ IT!

img_0246

#4. Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall

Remember when I mentioned that I’m trash for contemporaries? Yeah, well let me support that fact with yet another contemporary read, but this time, focusing on my favorite trope which is Bestfriends turned Lovers stories. I’M ALL FOR IT, and I was so shookt to have found out that this book revolved on that trope. SERIOUSLY, GUYS. I can’t help it! Oh, and did I mention that this is such a quick read? GO READ IT.

img_6357

#3. Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

Jennifer Niven is one of my favorite authors, not just because she makes everywhere she is brighter. It’s not because she tries her best to respond to all the messages that her fans send her. It’s not because she appreciates everything her readers do for her. Well, those are parts of why I love her, but the main reason why she’s one of my favorites is because of how real and how personal she writes stories. She takes some of her personal experiences, and makes a way for it to somehow be part of her characters’ stories. Her characters all have special places in my heart, and she’s basically one of the reasons why I’m still alive right now. And with Holding Up The Universe, she continues to give me reasons to continue loving her and champion her books.

img_3460

#2. Winter by Marissa Meyer

You guys. Winter is my first ever read of 2016. And to start the year with such high standards was definitely a mistake because I couldn’t help but compare all the fantasy books I read to this one, basically because it was the first book I picked up and finished. Oh, and remember when I mentioned how whenever I read a book that 600+ pages long in less than 3 days, it instantly becomes a favorite? Yeah, well Winter is 832 pages long. And I read it in 1 and a half days. Make up from that what you can.

img_8893

#1. The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

What can I say? Nicola’s my queen. The way this book was written was amazingly well thought off, and I have no words to describe it. I love how every single character in Natasha and Daniel’s story had, in some way, a part to play, and it’s amazing to have witnessed how Nicola’s writing flourished since her debut, Everything, Everything came out. I love her. I love her characters. I love her family. It’s going to sound creepy, but I am obsessed with her and her talent for writing. Oh, and just this morning, I wake up to news that this book is a #1 New York Times Bestseller! Okay, let me end this. *sheds happy tears in a corner.*


If you’re going to ask me if I’ve been able to move on from the previous year, my answer would be a heck no! Albeit 2016 has been one of humanity’s worst years (as far as I know, that is.), I can’t help but be honest that it definitely opened quite a few doors for me. And thank you, for being with me on this journey. I hope you know how much I appreciate your love and support.

What’s YOUR favorite book of 2016? Talk to me!

Until the next one!Capture

Follow me around the internet!
Facebook Twitter | Instagram Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Book Freak Revelations’ Top Ten Books of 2016

  1. I love The Serpent King, Holding Up the Universe, The Sun is Also a Star, and More Happy Than Not so much! We’ve been so spoiled with good contemporaries in 2016, I can only hope 2017 will be even more amazing. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

