[Blog Tour Book Review #20] The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

img_0554

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

Book Specifications:

Author: Cale Dietrich

Format: ARC

Part of a Series: No. Standalone.

Release Date: May 16, 2017

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

No. of Pages: 384 pages

Price: $18.99

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Science Fiction, Romance, Thriller, LGBTQIA+

Book Review:

img_0553

Massive thanks to my friends from Macmillan International for sending a review copy of this title my way, and for allowing me to host a local blog tour for this title. This did not, in any way, influence my opinions about the book and/or the story.

One of the many reasons why I really love reading YA books is that every title has something fresh, and new to offer. Albeit some books have fairly similar tropes, themes, and / or genres in comparison to other novels, I think it’s still safe to say that they still have that uncanny uniqueness to them. Anyway, today, I’m more than happy and proud to share with you all my thoughts on Cale Dietrich’s debut, The Love Interest.

As I’ve said, the idea and / or the synopsis of this book seem familiar, but as I’ve discovered, it’s actually unique and definitely has something new and fresh to offer. Whether it be a movie I’ve previously watched or a book I’ve previously read, the theme of this novel is definitely something I’ve encountered at least once or twice in the past. However, Cale’s characters and writing definitely made this debut a very unique and memorable one. What I love about this book is that it has an amazing set of characters which I’m pretty sure every reader will root for. Even the side characters or extras have a story, however brief it might be. Also, Cale’s writing is gorgeous, and entertaining, and every page grips the reader, allowing for them to continue turning the pages up until the very last.

I’m not entirely sure if this next one’s a spoiler, but maybe read with caution, yes? Another aspect that I adored about this book is that it tackled the sexual preference of our main Love Interests Caden and Dylan, but the whole story did not, in any way, revolve around that specific aspect. I love the author’s disregard (should I call it that?) for Caden’s real gender because it shows how mature his MC actually is as a human being. I’m also not entirely sure if this detail was unintentional, but I really adored Caden because of this fact. Same goes for Dylan.

As for the emotional aspect of the story, I personally think Cale nailed all of the feels-inducing parts to write. I obviously don’t want to get into too much detail as it will spoil a lot of things for you, should you choose to read this amazing debut, but you just have to trust me when I tell you that Cale offered his readers with just the right amount of feels. You’ll laugh, you’ll grin, you’ll cringe, and you’ll most definitely feel the rush of being with Caden while he goes on his adventures as a Love Interest. I promise you, it’ll be one of the best rides you’ll go on as a reader.

Now, I can only hope to read much more about this world that Cale introduced me to. There’s honestly a lot of stuff to discover and read about: Female Love Interests, Love Interests for other genders, and other ages. I most definitely can’t wait to read more from Cale, that’s for sure. All I can say, is that Cale has turned me into a huge fan, and he just became an auto-buy author for me because of his massively entertaining debut.

“All in all, The Love Interest is a YA book that I would definitely recommend to whoever’s willing to listen. It greatly showcases how important and life-changing it is to fight for what you believe in and find love in the process. It’s a work of pure genius, and I can only hope to read it once again for the first time.”

RATING:

Characters – 5.00

Plot – 4.50

Writing Style – 5.00

Pacing – 4.50

Ending – 4.00

TOTAL – 4.60 / 5★

Blog Tour Posts:

Be sure to check out this space as I will be updating it once the other reviews from my lovely blogger friends are up!

Allie’s Review at A Literary Wanderer

Leslie’s Review at The Bibliophile Kid

Bianca’s Review at Stay Bookish

Nicka’s Review at Read by Nicka

Kat’s Review at Kat Reads

Shealea’s Review at The Book Shelf Bitch

Jhed’s Review at When Books Defy Gravity

About the Author:

Cale Dietrich is a YA devotee, lifelong gamer, and tragic pop punk enthusiast. He was born in Perth, grew up on the Gold Coast, and now lives in Brisbane, Australia. The Love Interest is his first novel.

Twitter || Goodreads || WebsiteCapture

Follow me around the internet!
Facebook Twitter | Instagram Goodreads

5 thoughts on “[Blog Tour Book Review #20] The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

  1. Such a lovely review! I’m really impatient to read this book, it’s easily one of my most anticipated of this year. I hope to be able to buy it soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

