[Blog Tour Book Review #22] Karmic Hearts by Jhing Bautista

KH_banner

Love. Magic. Fate. Best-selling romance novel author Karmina Joan writes about them all. She believes that every person has a purpose, that every soul has a destiny to fulfill. She thought hers was simply sharing her stories.

Her story unfolds with Cupid, the Angel of Love himself. He brings with him a mysterious vessel and a message from on high. It turns out Karmina has a bigger purpose after all–a mission that will make or break humanity as we know it.

As Cupid teaches her the tricks of his trade, Karmina unknowingly gives him something unexpected in return–something that angel of love will find oddly familiar. This may become the one flaw in an otherwise perfect plan that destiny has in store for them.

Does love truly conquer all or are there limits to what humanity can do in the name of love? Witness as Karmina struggles to find the answer before time runs out on true love.

Book Specifications:

Author: Jhing Bautista

Format: Finished Copy

Part of a Series: No. Standalone.

Release Date: May 9, 2017 (Date of print publication)

Publisher: Pop Fiction Books

No. of Pages: 237 pages

Price: PhP195.00

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fantasy

Book Review:

img_1082

Massive thanks to my friend Jesselle of The Lifelong Bookworm, as well as the Pop Fiction Team for allowing me to be a part of this blog tour and for providing a finished copy of this book my way. This did not, in any way, affect my overall opinion of the book and/or the story.

If you’ve had the chance to read about just how much I adored Nicola Yoon’s sophomore novel, The Sun Is Also a Star, then you’d know how big a fan I am of destiny, and the notion that everything happens for a reason. I’d like to believe that everything we do, every person we meet, plays a vital role in our everyday life, and the devout Catholic in me wants to state that God really has a universal plan for everyone. I was so elated to be given my fill of that through Pop Fiction’s newest release, Karmic Hearts by Jhing Bautista.

The way this book started out was so whimsical, and it definitely set the the tone for the entire story. The first few lines and / or chapters in a book, I believe, are very crucial. Not only does it set the tone, but it also determines whether readers will like the book and continue reading it, or will they lose interest and opt to read it some other time. In Karmic Hearts, we see just how magical the author’s writing seemed, and the fact that she was able to push through with her writing technique until the end made me all the more hooked and impressed.

I also found it awe-inspiring that the author took the time to give her supporting characters the “good” endings they all deserved. Rarely do I find stories who focus on minor characters as much (or maybe just a little less) as they do with major ones, so I was really impressed seeing just how well written everyone’s small stories were carried out. I found every small detail just a tad bit necessary in seeing Karmina and Cupid’s story unfold. And to see that amount of detail be incorporated in a book with less than 300 pages really just satisfied me.

I also want to talk about our snarky MC, Karmina Joan, who was what I thought she was going to be: flawed. She wasn’t perfect, especially during the first few chapters. She made a couple of decisions that I didn’t 100% agree with, but that doesn’t mean she couldn’t change. And as expected, her character improved with every single chapter I read, and she ended up being an MC who I strongly rooted for as the story slowly came to an end. By the time I was reading the epilogue, I was deeply invested, and was left wanting more.

And lastly, CUPID. To say he’s perfect would be an understatement since he is, after all, the Angel of Love. But he really IS perfect! With curls that aim to make a girl (and/or the girls at heart) feel weak in the knees, and a mouth that just knows what to say in a given situation, Cupid is as sweet as can be. It’s a no-brainer how even our snarky MC, Karmina, fell for this one of a kind love interest.

“With all things considered, I believe Karmic Hearts has the power to let it’s readers believe in the power of true love, whether it be in this lifetime or the next. It dives into and talks about different kinds of love, and how with belief, it can truly change the way we see the world. Definitely a must-read for the all the hopeless romantics out there.”

RATING:

Characters – 4.00

Plot – 5.00

Writing Style – 5.00

Pacing – 3.50

Ending – 5.00

TOTAL – 4.50 / 5★

Quote Cards:

Blog Tour Posts:

img_1197

Be sure to check out this space as I will be updating it once the other reviews from my lovely blogger friends are up!

Nicka’s Review at Read by Nicka

Jhed’s Review at When Books Defy Gravity

Raf’s Review at The Royal Polar Bear Reads

Camelle’s Review at Home of A Book Lover

Imo’s Review at Amidst The Pages

Precious’ Review at Fragments of Life

Maricar’s Review at Blackplume

Kai’s Review at Amaterasu Reads

Kate’s Review at The Bookaholic Blurbs

About the Author:

Jhing Bautista is part Mina and part Cupid. She’s a romantic, but she’s not totally hopeless. She just has no sense of direction, both on the streets and in life.

She believes that people are part of a great story and when they move, their actions create ripples across the universe. These ripples affect all individuals and, in turn, affect the people around them, until the remnants of their choices boomerang back to them, creating a perfect circle we call karma.

Twitter || Wattpad|| Website || GoodreadsCapture

Follow me around the internet!
Facebook Twitter | Instagram Goodreads

3 thoughts on “[Blog Tour Book Review #22] Karmic Hearts by Jhing Bautista

  1. Love the review! I want to read for so long, I supported Karmic Hearts in wattpad, and I really want to read it now. I wish I am a part of your blog tour.

    Like

Leave a Reply

